en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

12 Steps to care for a person with dementia

12 Steps to care for a person with dementia

Raising the elderly population is a global phenomenon. Today the third age represents approximately 10% of the world population, being able to reach in 2050, 22%. The fact that people are living longer also has consequences for the health of these individuals, who can manifest degenerative diseases, such as dementia.

The term "degenerative" refers to the loss of proper functioning of a particular organ and is not infection, inflammation or tumor. In dementia, the brain is the organ that has its functions compromised.

Faced with this scenario, people who present this picture may experience loss of memory, difficulty performing daily tasks, such as managing money, driving or eating, as well as having changes in behavior, such as insomnia, irritability and aggressiveness.

Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia are the most common manifestations. In the case of dementia what occurs is a lack of blood in some brain regions, resulting in small infarcts on the site. As for Alzheimer's disease, a cause that proves the disease has not yet been detected.

Today the treatment for dementia seeks to provide a higher quality of life for the individual and also to reduce the progression of the disease. Therefore, a person who has difficulty dressing, but can still walk on his or her own, will receive a treatment focused on maintaining the ability to continue walking for as long as possible.

Living with a person presenting a picture Dementia requires specific care, attention and caring. Here are some tips to help an entity that is experiencing

1. Change the way you communicate

The patient with dementia may have difficulty remembering names of people and objects. In the same way you can forget or confuse words and present mental confusion.

Given this, verbal communication must be given in short and simple sentences, for example, when offering something it is better to specify: "do you want to read?", instead of asking, "Do you want to do something?" Give him time to understand what was said. If necessary repeat the sentence or use another expression with the same meaning. Always keep your voice calm, and when talking, have the patient look directly at you.

2. Establish routines

When a person becomes weak, they tend to be more insecure, in the case of a patient with dementia, the logic is the same. Therefore it is important that the people around you know changes in the environment the in the routine can trigger mental confusion in these patients.

A way to help you and establish routines, so that tasks - such as personal hygiene and food - are always performed at the same time. Tasks should be simplified, for example, when dressing, reduce clothing options in the closet. Avoid clothes with a zipper, buckles or buttons and leave the pieces of clothing separated in the same order.

This habit can contribute to the patient feeling more confident and comfortable with the situation. Stimulate independence: Do it with him and not BY him

It is important to note that people who manifest a dementia can continue to carry out activities independently. This will contribute to your self-esteem and will bring you more quality of life.

Anyone who lives with someone undergoing this situation can stimulate their autonomy. Therefore, encourage him to do activities that are within his routine alone, such as dressing, for example.

Initially let him try to do it on his own, if you realize that he could not complete the task himself, you can help you by providing some guidance. If he can not, assist him in the task.

Depending on the health condition, it can happen that the patient can not perform the task alone and need someone to perform that action for him. It is important that those around you are prepared to deal with the situation with patience and sensitivity.

The important thing is to observe the tasks that the patient can accomplish and to encourage it. Mobility also plays an important role in patient health because it reduces the risk of infection and venous thrombosis, as well as reducing the burden on the caregiver, so try to stimulate him or her to walk and move whenever possible.

4. Take care of his safety

As the body ages, vision and hearing problems begin to appear. In addition, the task of balancing is also a bit more difficult. It is therefore important to take some precautions to avoid falls and stimulate independence:

remove rugs and excess furniture from the house as they can facilitate the incidence of falls

  • put non-slip floor and safety bars in the bathroom
  • In addition, avoid leaving the house unlit as this can cause mental confusion. Ideally, always keep some sort of indirect lighting at night. At the doors, the locks should always be at the highest or the lowest.

Another important measure to avoid accidents is to keep the key of the house and the car in safe places, because in crises the patient can become agitated and try to leave the house.

5. Have some "rules" for food

Always try to offer meals in quiet places and at regular times, remember: the routine leaves the patient less confused.

So avoid distractions at this time, such as television, loud music or many people chatting at the same time. Some people may find it difficult to swallow. If this happens in your home, a more dense food will improve swallowing and will also prevent episodes of choking

Also try, if possible, to break the diet, so that the person has six meals a day, small quantities.

6. Watch out for hygiene

The bath should preferably be at the usual time in which it was taken before the onset of symptoms.

After evacuation, genitalia should be hy- drated from the urethra to the anus because it reduces the risk of fecal bacteria entering the urethra and triggering infection urinary tract infection.

7. Pay attention to signs on the skin

The elderly have a thinner and fragile skin, so it is easier to have lesions in areas of support of the body (sacral region and heel). For the patient who is bedridden, it is not recommended to always leave him in the same position, move him at least every two hours. One should make use of moisturizing cream on the skin and offer liquid during the day to avoid a possible dehydration. The diaper should be changed at least every three hours. In case of skin sores, seek medical advice from a healthcare team who will prescribe the dressing.

8. Photos and personal effects help reduce disorientation

Leaving pictures and personal objects around the house can bring greater recognition of the home. Place watches and calendars, preferably digital and large, at strategic locations.

9. Beware of preambulation

Preambulation is a state of restlessness that causes the person with a dementia case to walk from side to side without showing signs of fatigue.

Often it is only a symptom of the disease, however it can be triggered by pain, adverse reaction to medications or some infection. When it is only a symptom of the disease, the risks of fall or leak should be minimized (see item 4). It is important that the patient undergoes medical evaluation so that other possible causes are ruled out.

10. In incontinence, what should be done?

It can happen that the patient with dementia has incontinence (urinary or fecal) for several reasons: inability to contain diuresis, loss of the ability to recognize when to go to the bathroom, know or not remember where the toilet is and due to infections.

In these cases, the measure to minimize urinary incontinence is to take it regularly to the bathroom every one to two hours. At night you can choose to use the geriatric diaper. Fecal incontinence is less frequent, and it may be circumvented by observing the usual time the patient usually defecates and leading him to the bathroom in advance.

11. Understand behavior changes

A person with dementia may behave differently than he or she used to. Agitation, aggression and hallucinations are common factors. The patient may think he is being robbed, this is because he often does not remember where he placed a particular object and considers someone else to have stolen it.

Sometimes he feels persecuted, as he may not recognize some family members at home, passing to consider them strangers. It is important to reassure the patient at that time by helping him to look for the object and showing him that there are no strangers in the house.

Do not try to convince him that he was wrong, as it may increase his aggression or confusion. Nor should he be confronted when he does not recognize his own house. Offer personal belongings or show furniture or rooms that make you recognize the environment.

12. Maintain a sleep routine

The patient with dementia has several changes in sleep, with the most frequent being insomnia and switching from day to night (sleeping during the day and at night staying awake). To improve the quality of sleep, one should avoid daytime naps and keep it active during the day in domestic or leisure activities. Exposure to light in the morning also helps regulate sleep.


Research shows that the higher the level of testosterone, the greater the tendency for them to rely more on their opinions.

Research shows that the higher the level of testosterone, the greater the tendency for them to rely more on their opinions.

What was discovered is that the group that received testosterone was faster to make instant jigsaw puzzles where your initial guess is usually wrong. The explanation for this fact is that testosterone is inhibiting the process of self-criticism and increasing the sense of being always right

(Health)

Simaria, from the couple with Simone, is hospitalized due to tuberculosis

Simaria, from the couple with Simone, is hospitalized due to tuberculosis

The singer Simaria, from Simone and Simaria, did not go up to the stage of the 48th Expoagro in the city of Itapetininga (SP), held on Friday night (13) due to a health problem. On Tuesday, columnist Leo Dias released the information that the singer was diagnosed with ganglionar tuberculosis, a type of extrapulmonary tuberculosis.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

12 éTapes pour prendre soin d'une personne atteinte de démence

12 éTapes pour prendre soin d'une personne atteinte de démence

Élever la population âgée est un phénomène mondial. Aujourd'hui le troisième âge représente environ 10% de la population mondiale, pouvant atteindre en 2050, 22%. Le fait que les gens vivent plus longtemps a également des conséquences sur la santé de ces personnes, qui peuvent manifester des maladies dégénératives telles que la démence.

Le terme «dégénératif» désigne la perte du bon fonctionnement d'un organe particulier et n'est pas infection, inflammation ou tumeur. Dans la démence, le cerveau est l'organe dont les fonctions sont compromises

. Face à ce scénario, les personnes qui présentent cette image peuvent éprouver des pertes de mémoire, des difficultés à accomplir des tâches quotidiennes telles que gérer de l'argent, conduire ou manger. dans le comportement, tels que l'insomnie, l'irritabilité et l'agressivité.

La maladie d'Alzheimer et la démence vasculaire sont les manifestations les plus courantes. Dans le cas de la démence, il se produit un manque de sang dans certaines régions du cerveau, ce qui entraîne de petits infarctus sur le site. Quant à la maladie d'Alzheimer, une cause qui prouve que la maladie n'a pas encore été détectée.

Aujourd'hui, le traitement de la démence vise à améliorer la qualité de vie de l'individu et à réduire la progression de la maladie. Par conséquent, une personne qui a de la difficulté à s'habiller, mais qui peut encore marcher seule, recevra un traitement axé sur le maintien de la capacité de continuer à marcher aussi longtemps que possible.

Vivre avec une personne présentant une image La démence nécessite des soins spécifiques, de l'attention et des soins. Voici quelques conseils pour aider une entité qui connaît

1. Changez votre façon de communiquer

Le patient atteint de démence peut avoir de la difficulté à se souvenir des noms de personnes et d'objets. De la même manière, vous pouvez oublier ou confondre des mots et présenter une confusion mentale.

Ceci dit, la communication verbale doit être faite par des phrases courtes et simples, par exemple, en proposant quelque chose: "Voulez-vous lire?" au lieu de demander: «Voulez-vous faire quelque chose? Donnez-lui le temps de comprendre ce qui a été dit. Si nécessaire, répétez la phrase ou utilisez une autre expression avec la même signification. Gardez toujours votre voix calme et, lorsque vous parlez, demandez au patient de vous regarder directement.

2. Établir des routines

Lorsqu'une personne devient faible, elle tend à être plus précaire, dans le cas d'un patient atteint de démence, la logique est la même. Par conséquent, il est important que les gens autour de vous connaissent les changements dans l'environnement, dans la routine peut déclencher une confusion mentale chez ces patients.

Une façon de vous aider et d'établir des routines, pour des tâches telles que l'hygiène personnelle sont toujours effectuées en même temps. Les tâches doivent être simplifiées, par exemple, lors de l'habillage, réduire les options de vêtements dans le placard. Évitez les vêtements avec une fermeture à glissière, des boucles ou des boutons et laissez les vêtements séparés dans le même ordre.

Cette habitude peut contribuer à ce que le patient se sente plus confiant et à l'aise avec la situation. Stimuler l'indépendance: Faites-le avec lui et non PAR lui

Il est important de noter que les personnes qui manifestent une démence peuvent continuer à mener des activités de façon indépendante. Cela contribuera à votre estime de soi et vous apportera une meilleure qualité de vie.

Quiconque vit avec quelqu'un qui vit cette situation peut stimuler son autonomie. Par conséquent, encouragez-le à faire des activités qui relèvent de sa seule routine, comme s'habiller, par exemple.

Au début, laissez-le essayer de le faire seul, si vous réalisez qu'il ne pouvait pas accomplir la tâche lui-même, vous pouvez vous aider en fournissant quelques conseils. S'il ne peut pas, aidez-le dans la tâche.

Selon l'état de santé, il peut arriver que le patient ne puisse pas effectuer la tâche seul et ait besoin de quelqu'un pour effectuer cette action pour lui. Il est important que ceux qui vous entourent soient prêts à faire face à la situation avec patience et sensibilité.

L'important est d'observer les tâches que le patient peut accomplir et de l'encourager. La mobilité joue également un rôle important dans la santé des patients car elle réduit le risque d'infection et de thrombose veineuse, tout en réduisant le fardeau de l'aidant, alors essayez de le stimuler à marcher et bouger autant que possible.

4. Prenez soin de sa sécurité

À mesure que le corps vieillit, des problèmes de vision et d'ouïe commencent à apparaître. En outre, la tâche d'équilibrage est également un peu plus difficile. Il est donc important de prendre quelques précautions pour éviter les chutes et stimuler l'indépendance:

enlever les tapis et les meubles en excès de la maison car ils peuvent faciliter les chutes

  • placer des barres antidérapantes dans la salle de bain
  • De plus, évitez de laisser la maison éteinte car cela peut causer une confusion mentale. Idéalement, gardez toujours une sorte d'éclairage indirect la nuit. Aux portes, les serrures devraient toujours être au plus haut ou au plus bas.

Une autre mesure importante pour éviter les accidents est de garder la clé de la maison et la voiture dans des endroits sûrs, car le patient peut s'agiter la maison.

5. Avoir des «règles» pour la nourriture

Toujours essayer d'offrir des repas dans des endroits calmes et à des heures régulières, rappelez-vous: la routine laisse le patient moins confus.

Évitez donc les distractions en ce moment, comme la télévision, musique forte ou beaucoup de gens discutent en même temps. Certaines personnes peuvent trouver difficile d'avaler. Si cela se produit dans votre maison, une alimentation plus dense améliorera la déglutition et préviendra également les épisodes d'étouffement

Aussi, si possible, divisez le régime alimentaire pour que la personne ait six repas par jour, petites quantités.

6. Méfiez-vous de l'hygiène

Le bain doit de préférence être au moment habituel où il a été pris avant l'apparition des symptômes.

Après l'évacuation, les organes génitaux doivent être hydratés de l'urètre à l'anus, car ils réduisent le risque que des bactéries fécales pénètrent dans l'urètre et provoquent une infection. infection urinaire.

7. Faites attention aux signes sur la peau

Les personnes âgées présente une peau plus mince et plus fragile trouver simplement plus facile d'avoir des lésions dans les zones de soutien du corps (et sacral du talon). Pour le patient qui est alité, il n'est pas recommandé de toujours le laisser dans la même position, le déplacer au moins toutes les deux heures. On devrait faire usage de crème hydratante sur la peau et offrir du liquide pendant la journée pour éviter une possible déshydratation. La couche doit être changée au moins toutes les trois heures. En cas d'ulcères cutanés, consulter un médecin qui prescrira le pansement.

8. Les photos et effets personnels aident à réduire la désorientation

Laisser des images et des objets personnels autour de la maison peut apporter une meilleure reconnaissance de la maison. Placez des montres et des calendriers, de préférence numériques et de grande taille, à des endroits stratégiques.

9. Méfiez-vous du préambule

La préambulation est un état d'agitation qui fait que la personne atteinte de démence marche d'un côté à l'autre sans montrer de signes de fatigue.

Souvent, ce n'est qu'un symptôme de la maladie, Cependant, il peut être déclenché par la douleur, une réaction indésirable à des médicaments ou une infection. Lorsqu'il s'agit seulement d'un symptôme de la maladie, les risques de chute ou de fuite doivent être minimisés (voir point 4). Il est important que le patient subisse une évaluation médicale afin d'exclure d'autres causes possibles.

? 10. Dans l'incontinence, quoi faire

Il peut arriver que le patient souffrant de démence présente l'incontinence (urinaire ou fécale) pour plusieurs raisons: l'incapacité de contenir la diurèse, la perte de capacité à reconnaître quand vous avez besoin d'aller à la salle de bain, non savoir ou ne pas se souvenir où se trouve la toilette et en raison d'infections.

Dans ces cas, la mesure pour minimiser l'incontinence urinaire consiste à la porter régulièrement aux toilettes toutes les une à deux heures. La nuit, vous pouvez choisir d'utiliser la couche gériatrique. L'incontinence fécale est moins fréquente et peut être contournée en observant le temps habituel de défécation du patient et en le conduisant à l'avance à la salle de bain.

11. Comprendre les changements de comportement

Une personne atteinte de démence peut se comporter différemment de ce qu'elle était auparavant. L'agitation, l'agression et les hallucinations sont des facteurs communs. Le patient peut penser que vous êtes d'être volé, c'est parce qu'il ne peut souvent pas se rappeler où vous mettez un certain objet et croit que quelqu'un d'autre a volé.

Parfois vous vous sentez persécutées, car il ne peut pas reconnaître une famille à la maison, aller les considérer comme des étrangers. Il est important de rassurer le patient que le temps, l'aidant à chercher l'objet et en lui montrant que, dans la maison il n'y a pas inconnu.

Ne pas essayer de le convaincre qu'il avait tort, car il peut augmenter son agressivité ou la confusion. Il ne devrait pas non plus être confronté lorsqu'il ne reconnaît pas sa propre maison. Offrez des effets personnels ou montrez des meubles ou des pièces qui vous font reconnaître l'environnement.

12. Gardez une routine de sommeil

Le patient atteint de démence présente divers troubles du sommeil, le jour de l'insomnie et le commerce le plus fréquent pour la nuit (dort le jour et la nuit, il est convenu). Pour améliorer la qualité du sommeil, il faut éviter les siestes diurnes et le garder actif pendant la journée dans les activités domestiques ou de loisirs. L'exposition à la lumière le matin aide également à réguler le sommeil.


La cigarette favorise le cancer du poumon, le cancer du sein et cinq autres types

La cigarette favorise le cancer du poumon, le cancer du sein et cinq autres types

Le tabagisme est considéré par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) comme la principale cause de décès évitable dans le monde. Le tabagisme représente environ 4,9 millions de décès annuels, ce qui correspond à plus de 10 000 décès par jour. Si la consommation continue d'augmenter, ces chiffres passeront à 10 millions de décès annuels d'ici 2030.

(Santé)

Fourmillements dans les mains peuvent être inoffensifs ou indiquer des maladies

Fourmillements dans les mains peuvent être inoffensifs ou indiquer des maladies

Qui n'a jamais eu l'impression de picoter dans les mains? Vous tapez votre coude sur un mur et vous remarquez alors un picotement ou un choc dans votre main, impliquant généralement le quatrième (annulaire) et cinquième doigt (pinky). Ou après une longue course sur une journée froide la même chose: picotement des mains.

(Santé)