en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Cold that persists for 10 days or more may be sinusitis

Cold that persists for 10 days or more may be sinusitis

Sinusitis is the inflammation of the layer that lines the nasal cavity and the sinuses, the mucosa. The most correct term is rhinosinusitis. The nasal mucosa has specific types of cells that contain eyelashes, which help to filter the impurities from the air, and glands that produce the mucus. Mucus has the role of humidifying the air, preventing microorganisms such as bacteria and viruses from attaching to our bodies and aiding in the cleaning of substances such as dust particles. The eyelashes are responsible for loading the mucus into the back of the nasal cavity, where it will be eliminated.

The sinuses (or paranasal sinuses) are air-filled spaces within the bones of the face, which are filled by very similar mucosa to the nasal mucosa. The mucosa of the sinuses also produces mucus, which is drained into the nasal cavity through holes. The origin of sinusitis occurs precisely in the blockage of this passage. Anatomical problems and inflammation of the mucosa near the orifices are the main culprits.

Among the anatomical alterations, we can mention the nasal septum deviation and the presence of nasal polyps. Foreign bodies, such as dental fragments inside the breasts, can also lead to inflammation of the mucosa. This usually occurs after tooth extraction and dental implant surgeries. The inflammation of the mucosa near the orifices occurs in the following situations: allergic and infectious processes.

Allergic rhinitis causes an inflammation, with consequent edema (swelling) of the nasal mucosa, which, in turn, does not allow mucus drainage . Viral infectious pictures, such as colds and flu, also lead to this inflammation. Without drainage, the mucus accumulates inside the sinuses, creating a culture medium for bacteria, which, when they proliferate, lead to sinusitis.

Some situations facilitate the occurrence of sinusitis. Both active and passive smoking are proven risk factors. Carriers of diseases such as cystic fibrosis, which changes mucus features, and ciliary dyskinesia, which impair the function of cilia, have recurrent patterns of sinusitis.

Sinusitis may be acute or chronic depending on the duration. Acute sinusitis is one that lasts up to 3 months. Symptoms of acute and chronic sinusitis are similar, but in the acute stage they tend to be more intense, with fever, fatigue, and pain in the body. In chronic sinusitis, nasal symptoms and coughing predominate.

Identifying symptoms anticipates treatment

The symptoms that define sinusitis are: nasal obstruction (stuffy nose), nasal discharge (phlegm that runs through the nose or throat), reduction or lack of sense of smell (hyposmia) and headache, fever and cough. In children, the symptoms of fever and cough predominate. As we can see, sinusitis manifests in a very similar way to viral pictures, such as colds and flu. What differentiates the two situations is the duration and intensity of the symptoms.

We must be alert for sinusitis when symptoms of a cold persist after 10 days or worsen after the fifth day. At this time, the evaluation of the otolaryngologist can confirm the diagnosis, which is clinical, based on symptoms and physical examination. X-ray examination of the face is not necessary for the diagnosis of sinusitis. The specialist will then assess the need for the use of antibiotics.

Recurrent use of antibiotics for recurrent or chronic sinusitis should also be investigated. In this case, additional tests, such as face tomography, may be needed.

In both allergic and viral infections, treatment aims to ease symptoms and prevent progression to sinusitis. Even when the disease is established, mild and initial cases can be treated with nasal corticosteroids and nasal lavage with saline solution. The current trend is the diminishing use of antibiotics, which should be indicated with caution by the risk of bacterial resistance. Important information is that nasal corticosteroids are safe medications, given to children from 2 years of age, and do not cause the side effects that oral corticosteroids can cause. And when the specialist indicates antibiotic treatment, early treatment will lead to a faster recovery.


Psoriatic arthritis: 7 tips to get along better with the disease Psoriatic arthritis: understand how to deal better with disease, the best activities p

Psoriatic arthritis: 7 tips to get along better with the disease Psoriatic arthritis: understand how to deal better with disease, the best activities p

Get tips on how to get along better with psoriatic arthritis: Believe in treatment Receiving a diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis is never easy and it is very common to have negative thoughts at this time. However, there are currently rapid immune response medications that prevent the progression of the disease and often leave psoriatic arthritis asleep.

(Health)

Acetylsalicylic acid causes tooth erosion?

Acetylsalicylic acid causes tooth erosion?

Several published studies indicate that the use of acetylsalicylic acid may contribute to tooth erosion. These studies report laboratory studies (extracted teeth placed in water and acetylsalicylic acid solutions) and clinical case studies of people who ingested six doses of acetylsalicylic acid powder per day over a period of two to three years.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Le rhume qui persiste pendant 10 jours ou plus peut être une sinusite

Le rhume qui persiste pendant 10 jours ou plus peut être une sinusite

La sinusite est l'inflammation de la couche qui tapisse la cavité nasale et les sinus, la muqueuse. Le terme le plus correct est la rhinosinusite. La muqueuse nasale a des types spécifiques de cellules qui contiennent des cils, qui aident à filtrer les impuretés de l'air, et les glandes qui produisent le mucus. Le mucus a pour rôle d'humidifier l'air, d'empêcher les micro-organismes tels que les bactéries et les virus de se fixer sur notre corps et de contribuer au nettoyage de substances telles que les particules de poussière. Les cils sont responsables pour charger le mucus vers la partie postérieure de la cavité nasale, où ils seront éliminés.

Le sinus (ou nasale) sont des espaces remplis d'air à l'intérieur des os du visage, qui sont remplis avec la muqueuse très semblable à la muqueuse nasale. La muqueuse des sinus produit également du mucus, qui est drainé dans la cavité nasale à travers des trous. L'origine de la sinusite se produit précisément dans le blocage de ce passage. problèmes anatomiques et l'inflammation de la muqueuse à proximité des trous sont principalement responsables.

Parmi les changements anatomiques, on peut citer la déviation de la cloison nasale et la présence de polypes nasaux. Les corps étrangers, tels que des fragments dentaires à l'intérieur des seins, peuvent également entraîner une inflammation de la muqueuse. Cela se produit généralement après l'extraction de la dent et les chirurgies d'implants dentaires. Avoir une inflammation de la prochaine doublure les trous se produit dans les situations suivantes :. processus allergiques et infectieuses

La rhinite allergique provoque une inflammation, avec un œdème consécutif (gonflement) de la muqueuse nasale, ce qui, à son tour, ne permet pas le drainage du mucus . Les images virales infectieuses, telles que le rhume et la grippe, conduisent également à cette inflammation. Sans drainage, le mucus s'accumule à l'intérieur des sinus, créant un milieu de culture pour les bactéries qui, lorsqu'elles prolifèrent, conduisent à une sinusite.

Certaines situations facilitent la survenue d'une sinusite. Le tabagisme actif et passif sont des facteurs de risque avérés. Les patients atteints de maladies telles que la fibrose kystique, mucus modifier les caractéristiques et la dyskinésie ciliaire, qui porte atteinte à la fonction des cils vibratiles, ont des épisodes récurrents de la sinusite.

Sinusite peut être aiguë ou chronique en fonction de la durée. La sinusite aiguë est celle qui dure jusqu'à 3 mois. Les symptômes de la sinusite aiguë et chronique sont similaires, mais au stade aigu, ils ont tendance à être plus intenses, avec fièvre, fatigue et douleur dans le corps. Dans la sinusite chronique, prédominent les symptômes nasaux et de la toux

Identification des symptômes de traitement prévu

Les symptômes définissant la sinusite sont :. obstruction nasale (nez bouché), un écoulement nasal (mucus qui coule à travers le nez ou la gorge), la réduction ou le manque de sens de l'odorat (hyposmia) et le mal de tête, la fièvre et la toux. Chez les enfants, les symptômes de la fièvre et de la toux prédominent. Comme nous pouvons le voir, la sinusite se manifeste d'une manière très similaire à des images virales, telles que le rhume et la grippe. Ce qui différencie les deux situations est la durée et l'intensité des symptômes.

Nous devons être vigilants en cas de sinusite lorsque les symptômes d'un rhume persistent après 10 jours ou s'aggravent après le cinquième jour. À ce moment, l'évaluation de l'oto-rhino-laryngologiste peut confirmer le diagnostic, qui est clinique, basé sur les symptômes et l'examen physique. L'examen radiographique du visage n'est pas nécessaire pour le diagnostic de la sinusite. Le spécialiste évaluera ensuite la nécessité d'utiliser des antibiotiques.

L'utilisation récurrente d'antibiotiques pour les sinusites récidivantes ou chroniques doit également être étudiée. Dans ce cas, des tests supplémentaires, tels que la tomographie du visage, peuvent être nécessaires.

Dans les deux infections allergiques et virales, le traitement vise à soulager les symptômes et à prévenir la progression vers la sinusite. Même lorsque la maladie est établie, les cas bénins et initiaux peuvent être traités avec des corticostéroïdes nasaux et un lavage nasal avec une solution saline. La tendance actuelle est la diminution de l'utilisation des antibiotiques, qui devrait être indiquée avec prudence par le risque de résistance bactérienne. Une information importante est que les corticostéroïdes nasaux sont des médicaments sûrs, administrés aux enfants à partir de 2 ans, et ne causent pas les effets secondaires que les corticostéroïdes par voie orale peuvent causer. Et lorsque le spécialiste indique un traitement antibiotique, un traitement précoce permettra une récupération plus rapide.


Comprendre la controverse du lait bon marché

Comprendre la controverse du lait bon marché

A Diploptera punctata , une sorte de Pacific natif pas cher, a gagné l'attention du monde à la publication récente d'une étude réalisée par l'Institut de biologie des cellules souches et la médecine régénérative Selon l'étude, la substance extraite de cet insecte a trois fois plus d'énergie que le lait de buffle, considéré jusque-là comme l'aliment avec les protéines les plus nutritives disponibles.

(Santé)

Cancer de la prostate: quels sont les avantages du toucher et du PSA?

Cancer de la prostate: quels sont les avantages du toucher et du PSA?

Le diagnostic précoce d'un cancer potentiellement mortel ou même de ses lésions précurseurs sont les principaux objectifs d'un test de dépistage. Dans le cas du cancer de la prostate (PCa), les deux tests qui se sont avérés efficaces et rentables étaient l'antigène prostatique spécifique (PSA) et l'examen rectal.

(Santé)