en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Advanced breast cancer: Understand how targeted therapy works in treatment

Advanced breast cancer: Understand how targeted therapy works in treatment

Breast cancer breast cancer is the type of cancer that affects women the world over - in Brazil alone, the Ministry of Health estimates more than 50,000 new cases a year. According to data from the Brazilian Society of Mastology, about one in 12 women will have a breast tumor until age 90.

As a rule, treatment for breast cancer includes surgery for removal of the tumor, which can be partial or total. However, cases considered advanced may not be indicated for surgery, leaving for other modalities. Breast cancer can be locally advanced, when there is involvement of neighboring structures, such as muscles, skin and lymph glands, or advanced with metastases, when the tumor has already reached other organs. According to the National Cancer Institute (INCA), about 75% of women are already diagnosed with advanced breast cancer.

Among the traditional treatments, such as chemotherapy, radiotherapy and hormone therapy, there is the target therapy. It is based on medications that specifically act on a group of tumors in which it is possible to identify a molecular alteration (altered protein or altered gene). "The drug acts at this 'target', inhibiting its action and reducing tumor growth," says oncologist Artur Malzyner of Clinonco in São Paulo. However, only people who have the molecular changes that can be affected by the drug benefit from target therapy.

These new therapeutic modalities aim to target treatment more specifically to diseased cells, sparing normal healthy cells, unlike

For advanced breast cancer, target therapy emerges as a hope of controlling the disease without exposing the patient to the more aggressive side effects of other treatments, since they affect the cells of the entire body, contributing to increase the life expectancy of these women. Know the different types of target therapy for breast cancer and which groups are indicated for each medication:

Everolimo

Patients with metastatic breast cancer, who express estrogen or progesterone receptors, and who have failed treatment with Non-steroidal aromatase inhibitors (anastrozole or letrozole) are indicated for treatment with everolimus.

These new therapeutic modalities aim to target treatment more specifically to diseased cells, sparing normal healthy cells, unlike what happens with chemotherapy, radiotherapy and hormone therapy.

In Brazil, everolimo was approved by Anvisa in 2013 for the treatment of postmenopausal women with advanced hormone receptor positive (RH +) and negative for growth factor receptor (HER2 -).

Tumors of the breast that present the estrogen receptor depend on the activation of this receptor to c to resent It is as if the estrogen receptor sends a warning to the breast cells, saying that they should continue to proliferate. In most patients, hormone therapy inhibits this signaling pathway, preventing tumor cells from multiplying.

However, in some cases the receptors are able to use "escape routes" to send these messages to cells. These are called alternative intracellular signaling pathways (mTOR pathway). "When this happens, tumor cell proliferation perpetuates and the tumor becomes resistant to hormone treatment," says clinical oncologist Vladmir Cordeiro de Lima of ACCamargo Cancer Center.

Everolimo inhibits mTOR, thereby preventing activation of the estrogen receptor and breaking the resistance of the tumor to the hormonal treatment. "In this way, treatment with everolimus associated with aromatase inhibitors is a partner in inhibiting tumor growth," says the expert. "The treatment provides the possibility of postponing the onset of chemotherapy, which clearly has more important side effects and a very similar response," explains the mastologist André Mattar of the Pérola Byington Hospital in São Paulo.woman taking medication - Photo: Getty Images

The medicine is given orally, usually once daily. Side effects can include diarrhea, fatigue, shortness of breath, mouth sores and coughing. Everolimus may also raise blood glucose and triglyceride levels, as well as increase the risk of infections. Although it is available for women with a health plan, everolimo is not yet available in the Unified Health System (SUS).

Trastuzumab

Produced from a protein in the immune system, trastuzumab is a type of medicine known as monoclonal antibody. The method can be used in women with tumors expressing the HER2 protein. Tumors of the breast that have this protein on its surface tend to spread more aggressively. "Trastuzumab works by binding to this HER2 protein, slowing that growth," says oncologist Vladmir. In addition, it stimulates the immune system to fight the disease more forcefully.

Trastuzumab is given intravenously once a week, usually in combination with chemotherapy. Side effects may occur in the first few doses, including fever, chills, weakness, nausea, vomiting, cough, diarrhea, and headache. Since 2013, trastuzumab is available in the SUS, and is also affordable for women with health insurance.

Pertuzumab

Pertuzumab is also a monoclonal antibody that binds to HER2 protein. However, the pertuzumab will act otherwise. "The drug prevents HER2 from associating with other proteins necessary for its functioning," explains the oncologist Vladmir. Thus, while trastuzumab inhibits the action of the protein, pertuzumab will prevent it from binding to other proteins necessary for tumor proliferation.

Pertuzumab is administered by intravenous infusion every three weeks. There may be side effects such as diarrhea, hair loss, nausea, fatigue, and decreased white blood cells, especially when associated with trastuzumab. The drug is approved in Brazil as the first-line treatment for HER2-positive metastatic tumors, and is available not only in the private network of hospitals but also in SUS.

Lapatinib

Exclusive to patients with advanced breast cancer, Lapatinib is also indicated for women with breast cancer who express HER2 protein, but does not respond to treatment with chemotherapy or trastuzumab.

Lapatinib inhibits functioning of the HER2 protein and thereby preventing tumor growth. It is administered orally and can cause side effects such as nausea, diarrhea, vomiting and rash.

There are ongoing studies to approve lapatinib as a treatment option for early stage breast cancer. "But, for now, it is only indicated for advanced cases after trastuzumab failure," explains the oncologist Vladmir. However, lapatinib is not available for SUS only for women with health insurance.

Bevacizumab

"Bevacizumab inhibits the formation of new blood vessels in the tumor," says Vladmir Cordeiro de Lima. This is necessary because every tumor needs to create new blood vessels to grow and grow. Bevacizumab inhibits vascular endothelial growth, preventing tumors from forming new blood vessels. Bevacizumab, given intravenously, is most often used in combination with chemotherapy. High blood pressure, tiredness, headaches, mouth sores and diarrhea are among the most common side effects. It is approved in Brazil as a first line treatment for any type of metastatic breast cancer. Bevacizumab is not yet available in the SUS for breast cancer treatment, but can be found in some health plans.

Ado-trastuzumab entansine

This target therapy is indicated for metastatic HER2 positive breast cancer after treatment failure with trastuzumab and / or pertuzumab. Unlike other target therapies, the ado-trastuzumab entansin necessarily requires the patient to be treated with conjugated DM1 chemotherapy. "This is because the drug connects to the chemotherapeutic, directly and specifically into the breast tumor cells that present the HER2 protein on the surface," explains the oncologist Vladmir.

Chemotherapy is a set of drugs that are infused by orally or directly into the bloodstream for the purpose of destroying, controlling or inhibiting the growth of diseased cells. Whether orally or intravenously, treatment is not done locally - that is, the drug will circulate throughout the body, including where the tumor is. This can cause the medication to affect other parts of the body, causing undesirable side effects such as nausea, hair loss and nail thinning.

When used in conjunction with ado-trastuzumab entansine, the chemotherapeutic is directed exactly to the cells prevent it from affecting other organs. It can bring side effects like fatigue, muscle and bone pain, headache, constipation and heart and lung problems. Recently approved by Anvisa, the drug is not yet available in the SUS.


Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: it is possible to have quality of life

Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: it is possible to have quality of life

Receiving a diagnosis of an Inflammatory Bowel Disease ) is not easy news. The most frequent IBDs are Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis. In general, Inflammatory Bowel Diseases cause symptoms that may interfere with social coexistence. To talk about this subject, we talked with the gastroenterologist Marta Brenner, National President of the National Association of Crohn's Disease and Colitis, and with the gastroenterologist Andrea Vieira, Head of the Gastroenterology Clinic of Santa Casa de São Paulo and Professor of the Faculty of Medical Sciences of Santa Casa de São Paulo.

(Health)

Coriza seems a simple symptom in allergies, but when untreated may cause complications

Coriza seems a simple symptom in allergies, but when untreated may cause complications

The coryza is a symptom characterized by the production of runny or runny nose, which is popularly known as "runny noses." It can present with transparent coloration (hyaline coryza), yellowish, greenish or bloody. When it is associated with allergic processes, it is usually transparent. The intensity and frequency may be variable.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Cancer du sein avancé: Comprendre comment le traitement ciblé fonctionne dans le traitement

Cancer du sein avancé: Comprendre comment le traitement ciblé fonctionne dans le traitement

Cancer du sein Le cancer du sein est le type de cancer qui affecte les femmes dans le monde entier - rien qu'au Brésil, le ministère de la Santé estime à plus de 50 000 le nombre de nouveaux cas par an. Selon les données de la Société Brésilienne de Mastologie, environ une femme sur 12 aura une tumeur au sein jusqu'à l'âge de 90 ans.

En règle générale, le traitement du cancer du sein comprend une intervention chirurgicale pour enlever la tumeur, qui peut être partiel ou total. Cependant, les cas considérés avancés peuvent ne pas être indiqués pour la chirurgie, laissant pour d'autres modalités. Le cancer du sein peut être localement avancé, lorsqu'il y a atteinte des structures voisines, telles que les muscles, la peau et les ganglions lymphatiques, ou avancé avec des métastases, lorsque la tumeur a déjà atteint d'autres organes. Selon l'Institut National du Cancer (INCa), environ 75% des femmes sont déjà diagnostiqués avec le cancer du sein à un stade avancé.

Au milieu des traitements traditionnels tels que la chimiothérapie, la radiothérapie et un traitement hormonal, il y a une thérapie ciblée. Il est basé sur des médicaments qui agissent spécifiquement sur un groupe de tumeurs dans lesquelles il est possible d'identifier une altération moléculaire (protéine altérée ou gène altéré). "Le médicament agit sur cette" cible ", inhibant son action et réduisant la croissance tumorale", explique l'oncologue Artur Malzyner de Clinonco à São Paulo. Cependant, seules les personnes ayant subi les modifications moléculaires qui peuvent être affectées par le médicament bénéficient du traitement ciblé.

Ces nouvelles modalités thérapeutiques visent à cibler le traitement plus spécifiquement sur les cellules malades, en épargnant les cellules saines normales, contrairement

Pour le cancer du sein avancé, la thérapie cible apparaît comme un espoir de contrôler la maladie sans exposer le patient aux effets secondaires plus agressifs des autres traitements, car ils affectent les cellules. de tout le corps, contribuant à augmenter l'espérance de vie de ces femmes. Répondre à différents types de thérapie ciblée pour le cancer du sein et les groupes indiqués pour chaque médicament:

évérolimus

patients atteints d'un cancer du sein métastatique exprimant des récepteurs d'oestrogène et de progestérone et qui avaient échec du traitement les inhibiteurs de l'aromatase non stéroïdiens (anastrozole ou létrozole) sont indiqués pour le traitement par Afinitor.

Ces nouvelles modalités thérapeutiques sont destinées à conduire le traitement plus spécifiquement aux cellules malades, en épargnant les cellules saines normales, contrairement à ce qui se passe avec la chimiothérapie, la radiothérapie et l'hormonothérapie.

au Brésil, évérolimus a été approuvé par l'ANVISA en 2013 pour le traitement des femmes dans (+ HR) les femmes post-ménopausées avec récepteurs hormonaux du cancer du sein avancé positif et négatif pour le récepteur du facteur de croissance (HER2-).

Les tumeurs du sein qui présentent le récepteur d'oestrogène dépendent de l'activation de ce récepteur à c renvoyer C'est comme si le récepteur d'oestrogène envoie un avertissement aux cellules de sein, disant qu'ils devraient continuer à proliférer. Chez la plupart des patients, l'hormonothérapie inhibe cette voie de signalisation, empêchant les cellules tumorales de se multiplier. Cependant, dans certains cas, les récepteurs peuvent utiliser des «voies d'évacuation» pour envoyer ces messages aux cellules. Ceux-ci sont appelés voies de signalisation intracellulaires alternatives (voie mTOR). « Lorsque cela se produit, la prolifération de la cellule tumorale est perpétué et la tumeur devient résistant au traitement hormonal », dit-oncologue Vladimir Cordeiro de Lima, le Cancer Center Camargo AC.

Le évérolimus inhibe mTOR, empêchant ainsi activation du récepteur des œstrogènes et rupture de la résistance de la tumeur au traitement hormonal. "De cette façon, le traitement à l'évérolimus associé aux inhibiteurs de l'aromatase est un partenaire dans l'inhibition de la croissance tumorale", explique l'expert. "Le traitement offre la possibilité de retarder l'apparition de la chimiothérapie, ce qui a clairement des effets secondaires plus importants et une réponse très similaire", explique le phar- macologue André Mattar de l'hôpital Pérola Byington de São Paulo.femme prenant des médicaments - Photo: Getty Images

Le médicament est administré par voie orale, généralement une fois par jour. Les effets secondaires peuvent inclure la diarrhée, la fatigue, l'essoufflement, les plaies dans la bouche et la toux. Évérolimus peut également augmenter la glycémie et les niveaux de triglycérides, ainsi que d'augmenter le risque d'infections. Bien qu'il soit disponible pour les femmes avec un plan de santé, everolimo n'est pas encore disponible dans le système de santé unifié (SUS)

Trastuzumab

Produit à partir d'une protéine dans le système immunitaire, le trastuzumab est un type de médicament connu comme anticorps monoclonal. La méthode peut être utilisée chez les femmes présentant des tumeurs exprimant la protéine HER2. Les tumeurs du sein qui ont cette protéine à sa surface ont tendance à se propager plus agressivement. "Le trastuzumab agit en se liant à cette protéine HER2, ce qui ralentit cette croissance", explique l'oncologue Vladmir. En outre, il stimule le système immunitaire pour combattre la maladie plus vigoureusement.

Le trastuzumab est administré par voie intraveineuse une fois par semaine, généralement en association avec une chimiothérapie. Des effets secondaires peuvent survenir lors des premières doses, notamment fièvre, frissons, faiblesse, nausées, vomissements, toux, diarrhée et maux de tête. Depuis 2013, le trastuzumab est disponible dans le SUS et est également abordable pour les femmes ayant une assurance maladie

Pertuzumab

Le pertuzumab est également un anticorps monoclonal qui se lie à la protéine HER2. Cependant, le pertuzumab agira autrement. "Le médicament empêche HER2 de s'associer à d'autres protéines nécessaires à son fonctionnement", explique l'oncologue Vladmir. Ainsi, alors que le trastuzumab inhibe l'action de la protéine, le pertuzumab l'empêchera de se lier à d'autres protéines nécessaires à la prolifération tumorale.

Le perfuzumab est administré par perfusion intraveineuse toutes les trois semaines. Il peut y avoir des effets secondaires tels que la diarrhée, la perte de cheveux, la nausée, la fatigue et la diminution des globules blancs, en particulier lorsqu'ils sont associés au trastuzumab. Le médicament est approuvé au Brésil comme traitement de première ligne pour les tumeurs métastatiques HER2-positives, et est disponible non seulement dans le réseau privé des hôpitaux, mais aussi en SUS.

Lapatinib

Exclusif aux patientes atteintes d'un cancer du sein avancé, Le lapatinib est également indiqué chez les femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein qui expriment la protéine HER2, mais qui ne répondent pas au traitement par chimiothérapie ou trastuzumab.

Le lapatinib inhibe le fonctionnement de la protéine HER2 et empêchant ainsi la croissance tumorale. Il est administré par voie orale et peut causer des effets secondaires tels que nausées, diarrhées, vomissements et éruptions cutanées.

Des études sont en cours pour approuver le lapatinib comme traitement contre le cancer du sein à un stade précoce. "Mais, pour l'instant, il n'est indiqué que pour les cas avancés après échec du trastuzumab", explique l'oncologue Vladmir. Cependant, le lapatinib n'est pas disponible pour le SUS seulement pour les femmes ayant une assurance maladie.

Bevacizumab

"Le bévacizumab inhibe la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins dans la tumeur", explique Vladmir Cordeiro de Lima. Ceci est nécessaire car chaque tumeur a besoin de créer de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins pour grandir et grandir. Le bévacizumab inhibe la croissance de l'endothélium vasculaire et empêche la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins.Le bévacizumab, administré par voie intraveineuse, est le plus souvent associé à une chimiothérapie. L'hypertension artérielle, la fatigue, les maux de tête, les plaies dans la bouche et la diarrhée sont parmi les effets secondaires les plus courants. Il est approuvé au Brésil comme traitement de première ligne pour tout type de cancer du sein métastatique. Le bevacizumab n'est pas encore disponible dans le SUS pour le traitement du cancer du sein, mais peut être trouvé dans certains plans de santé.

Ado-trastuzumab emtansine

Cette thérapie ciblée est indiqué pour cancer du sein métastatique HER2-positif après l'échec du traitement par trastuzumab et / ou pertuzumab. Contrairement à d'autres thérapies ciblées, l'ado-trastuzumab entansin nécessite nécessairement que le patient soit traité par une chimiothérapie DM1 conjuguée. « En effet, le médicament se connecte à la chimiothérapie, le conduisant directement et spécifiquement aux cellules tumorales du sein qui ont la protéine HER2 sur sa surface », explique Vladimir oncologue.

La chimiothérapie est un ensemble de médicaments qui sont infusées par par voie orale ou directement dans la circulation sanguine dans le but de détruire, contrôler ou inhiber la croissance des cellules malades. Que ce soit par voie orale ou intraveineuse, le traitement n'est pas fait localement - c'est-à-dire que le médicament circulera dans tout le corps, y compris là où se trouve la tumeur. Cela peut causer le médicament affecte d'autres parties du corps, ce qui provoque des effets secondaires indésirables tels que nausées, chute des cheveux et l'affaiblissement des ongles.

Quand il est utilisé en conjonction avec la forme de procès-trastuzumab emtansine, la chimiothérapie est ciblée exactement aux cellules l'empêcher d'affecter d'autres organes. Il peut entraîner des effets secondaires tels que la fatigue, des douleurs musculaires et osseuses, des maux de tête, de la constipation et des problèmes cardiaques et pulmonaires. Récemment approuvé par Anvisa, le médicament n'est pas encore disponible dans le SUS.


8 Mythes et solutions pour mettre fin au hoquet

8 Mythes et solutions pour mettre fin au hoquet

Le hoquet n'a pas le temps de se produire, et arrive souvent à des moments inappropriés tels que des réunions ou lors d'un repas en famille. Quand une crise commence, il est courant de voir plusieurs conseils pour mettre fin au problème. Mais sont-ils vraiment vrais? Pour aider à mettre fin aux doutes sur le sujet, nous avons parlé avec la gastro-entérologue Maira Marzinotto, du Réseau des Hôpitaux São Camilo de São Paulo.

(Santé)

Les melons infectés tuent trois personnes en Australie

Les melons infectés tuent trois personnes en Australie

Nous parlons toujours de l'importance de laver les aliments avant de consommer et de laisser acheter des produits sans origine, car ils peuvent être déterminants d'une maladie Depuis le début de l'année, l'apport de melon jaune a causé plusieurs cas d'infection bactérienne en Australie. Listeria est un microbe qui peut être contracté par la nourriture et par contact avec des animaux et des individus contaminés.

(Santé)