en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Bruxism: Check Treatment Options

Bruxism: Check Treatment Options

Bruxism is a common problem, which affects 20% of people in Brazil, and consists of the reflex of involuntarily grinding the teeth. "The force employed in this movement can cause symptoms such as temporomandibular joint pain (TMJ) and teeth which can spread to the face, neck and head, and increase the volume of the muscle involved in mastication," explains the odontologist Artur Cerri, scientific advisor to the Brazilian Association of Dental Surgeons (ABCD).

The diagnosis of this disorder, however, is not always easy. According to Cerri, the ranger usually occurs at night, since during the day the person is constantly using his mouth to talk, eat and other activities. In these cases, the patient arrives first with the pain, and the bruxism ends up being a hypothesis raised after several others have been discarded. "It is very common for the partner to detect this when sleeping with the person who has bruxism," says the specialist.

Once the problem is identified, treatment options vary little. "The most important thing is to evaluate the condition of the teeth and the enamel," says dentist Alessandra Rodrigues, a dentist at Sorridents and the Sorridents Institute. For Cerri, the main focus of treatments is on taking the conditioning of grinding teeth, which is done in different ways in the treatments. Understand better how each treatment for bruxism works:

Dental plaques

Dental plaques are tailor-made for teeth, usually made of acrylic or silicone. The plaques are positioned around the top or bottom teeth and are made from a mold of the patient's mouth ... "They act to soften the patient's pain and prevent the teeth from wearing out or even breaking," says Alessandra.

However, for Cerri his most important action is to break the person's conditioning of grinding his teeth by getting between them. "When the tooth touches the acrylic or silicone surface, the sensation is different from the friction with another tooth." This strangeness blocks the friction reflex, "explains the specialist.

Patients usually fit well on the plates, but the duration of the treatment is undefined and usually measured in the long term. "In the meantime, one needs to properly clean the teeth and plaque, as well as prevent loss or breakage of the material, which needs to be used every night," says Artur Cerri.

Botulinum Toxin

When Patient does not adapt to treatment with dental plaques, a second option is the treatment with botulinum toxin (popularly known as botox). "In the case of bruxism, it is applied to the masseter, the main muscle of the TMJ. Without this force, it can not rub the teeth with the old force, which decondition the patient," explains Cerri .

The effect of botulinum toxin lasts four to six months. After this, the patient is reassessed and may have the substance reapplied if he continues to grind his teeth without it.

Treatment for anxiety

In addition to these treatments, it is very important that the patient seeks to treat the cause of his bruxism, which is usually related to anxiety. In these cases, the dentist usually suggests a psychological follow-up to the patient. "However, it is important to remember that without effective treatment of the teeth, either with the plaque or with the botulinum toxin, the patient will not show improvement and can damage the structure of their teeth," says Cerri.


Zika virus: study investigates neurological problems in adults

Zika virus: study investigates neurological problems in adults

Experts from Rio de Janeiro started a research to investigate whether the Zika virus can cause neurological problems in adults as well. The relationship between this virus and neurological diseases in infants, such as microcephaly and arthrogryposis, has been accepted. However, last week was reported the genetic sequencing of the Zika virus and the experts realized a genetic proximity to the Japanese encephalitis virus.

(Health)

Palpitation may be a sign of cardiac arrhythmia

Palpitation may be a sign of cardiac arrhythmia

The heart beats about 80 times in a minute and no one notices. When the rhythm becomes irregular - too fast or too slow - one often feels something different in the chest. The most common report is palpitations. Sometimes the chest "accelerates", sometimes slows down. Sometimes he jumps. Sometimes it feels like there's someone blowing air bubbles inside a glass on my chest.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Bruxisme: Contrôle des options de traitement

Bruxisme: Contrôle des options de traitement

Le bruxisme est un problème commun, qui touche 20% des Brésiliens et qui consiste en un réflexe de meulage involontaire des dents. "La force employée dans ce mouvement peut provoquer des symptômes tels que des douleurs articulaires temporo-mandibulaires (ATM) et des dents qui peuvent se propager au visage, au cou et à la tête et augmenter le volume musculaire impliqué dans la mastication", explique l'odontologiste. Artur Cerri, conseiller scientifique de l'Association brésilienne des chirurgiens dentistes (ABCD).

Le diagnostic de cette maladie n'est cependant pas toujours facile. Selon Cerri, le garde se produit généralement la nuit, puisque pendant la journée, la personne utilise constamment sa bouche pour parler, manger et d'autres activités. Dans ces cas, le patient arrive en premier avec la douleur, et le bruxisme finit par être une hypothèse soulevée après que plusieurs autres ont été jetés. «Il est très fréquent que le partenaire le détecte lorsqu'il dort avec la personne atteinte de bruxisme», explique le spécialiste.

Une fois le problème identifié, les options de traitement varient peu. "La chose la plus importante est d'évaluer l'état des dents et de l'émail", explique la dentiste Alessandra Rodrigues, dentiste chez Sorridents et l'Institut Sorrents. Pour Cerri, l'objectif principal des traitements est de prendre le conditionnement des dents de meulage, ce qui se fait de différentes manières dans les traitements. Comprenez mieux comment fonctionne chaque traitement du bruxisme:

Plaques dentaires

Les plaques dentaires sont faites sur mesure pour les dents, généralement en acrylique ou en silicone. Les plaques sont placées autour des dents du haut ou du bas et sont fabriquées à partir d'un gabarit de la bouche du patient ... «Elles agissent pour adoucir la douleur du patient et empêcher les dents de s'user ou même de se briser», explique Alessandra.

Cependant, pour Cerri, son action la plus importante est de rompre le conditionnement de la personne à grincer des dents en s'interposant entre eux. "Lorsque la dent touche la surface en acrylique ou en silicone, la sensation est différente du frottement avec une autre dent." Cette étrangeté bloque le réflexe de friction ", explique le spécialiste.

Les patients se portent généralement bien sur les plaques. le traitement est indéfini et habituellement mesuré à long terme. « En attendant, il est nécessaire que la personne désinfectez les dents et la plaque correctement et prévenir la perte ou la rupture du matériau, qui doit être utilisé tous les soirs », estime Arthur Cerri.

toxine botulique

Lorsque le patient ne s'adapte pas au traitement avec des plaques dentaires, une deuxième option est le traitement avec la toxine botulique (populairement connu sous le nom de botox). "Dans le cas du bruxisme, il est appliqué au masséter, le muscle principal de l'ATM, sans cette force, il ne peut pas se frotter les dents avec l'ancienne force qui conditionne le patient", explique Cerri

L'effet de la toxine botulique dure de quatre à six mois. Après cela, le patient est réévalué et peut être substance réappliqué, si elle continue en serrant les dents sans lui.

Le traitement de l'anxiété

En plus de ces traitements, il est très important que le patient cherche à traiter la cause de votre bruxisme, ce qui est généralement lié à l'anxiété. Dans ces cas, le dentiste suggère généralement un suivi psychologique du patient. "Cependant, il est important de se rappeler que sans un traitement efficace des dents, que ce soit avec la plaque ou avec la toxine botulique, le patient ne montrera aucune amélioration et peut endommager la structure de ses dents", dit Cerri.


Le composé du thé vert peut inhiber l'action du virus Zika

Le composé du thé vert peut inhiber l'action du virus Zika

A montré qu'une molécule de thé vert peut empêcher l'entrée du virus Zika dans les cellules humaines, l'empêchant d'entrer il va se multiplier dans le corps. L'étude a relié l'Université d'État de São Paulo (Unesp) à l'École de médecine de Rio Preto (Famerp) et à l'Université fédérale du Mato Grosso.

(Santé)

Avec jamais vu le cancer dans le monde, garçon de 3 ans et la famille demander de l'aide pour le traitement

Avec jamais vu le cancer dans le monde, garçon de 3 ans et la famille demander de l'aide pour le traitement

Dans une vidéo partagée sur les réseaux sociaux, João Monjardim, trois ans, montre tout son courage en marchant avec son vélo sans l'aide des roues latérales (voir ici). Astuce, il s'aventure même avec quelques manœuvres avec le jouet. Ceci n'est qu'une des démonstrations que John donne de son courage.

(Santé)