en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

CA-125: exam evaluates risk for ovarian cancer

CA-125: exam evaluates risk for ovarian cancer

The CA-125 exam measures the amount of this tumor marker in the blood. The CA-125 antigen is a protein present in most ovarian cancer cells, and is therefore commonly used during and after treatment.

In some cases, CA-125 can be used to evaluate early signs of cancer. ovarian cancer or patients at high risk for this type of tumor.

The body naturally produces small amounts of CA-125, and this does not indicate any disease. Some conditions may moderately elevate levels of this marker, such as menstruation, pregnancy or pelvic inflammation.

Significantly elevated levels of CA-125 in the blood may indicate the presence of ovarian cancer or, in some cases, other types of tumor, such as ovarian cancer, endometrium, peritoneum, or fallopian tubes.

Indications

The CA-125 test is primarily used to monitor the treatment of ovarian cancer. It can also be used to detect if cancer has returned after treatment is complete.

The test is sometimes used to test and monitor women at high risk for ovarian cancer but who do not yet have the disease. However, the test is not used for ovarian cancer screening - how is mammography for breast cancer? as not all women with high levels of CA-125 will have cancer and vice versa.

Sometimes the CA-125 test can be ordered along with transvaginal ultrasonography to help detect ovarian cancer early in women at high risk of developing the disease. It can also sometimes be ordered to help investigate other tumors, such as ovarian, endometrial, peritoneal or fallopian cancers.

Contraindications

Because it is a common blood test, there are no express contraindications for CA -125. However, the doctor or doctor will tell you whether or not you can take the test.

Pregnant can do?

Women during pregnancy are allowed to take the examination as directed medical, there being no contraindications. However, gestation can raise CA-125 levels without any serious illness or condition.

Exam Preparation

No special preparation is required for the CA-125 exam. But it is important to tell the doctor or doctor what medications you take regularly, including dietary supplements. In some cases, it may be necessary to stop using the medication.

How it is done

In a hospital or laboratory, the CA-125 exam is performed by a healthcare professional as follows:

  • With the patient sitting, a rubber band is tied around his arm to stop the flow of blood. This causes the veins to become wider, helping the practitioner hit one of them.
  • The professional cleans the arm area to be penetrated by the needle.
  • The needle is inserted into the vein. This procedure can be done more than once until the health care provider hits the vein and is able to remove the blood.
  • Blood collected in the syringe and placed in a tube
  • The elastic is removed and a gauze is placed on the where the health professional inserted the needle, to prevent any bleeding. He or she can put pressure on the bandage to stagnate blood
  • A bandage is placed on the spot.

Blood test: know the blood path you take after collection

Examination time

A CA-125 exam takes a few minutes to complete, and may take longer in cases where the healthcare provider has difficulty hitting the vein to collect the blood.

Post-examination recommendations

There are no special recommendations following the examination. The patient can do his / her activities normally. If the blood sample is used for other tests that require fasting, the patient may eat after collection.

Examination frequency

Risks

The risks involved in performing the CA-125 exam are extremely rare . At most, there may be a hematoma at the site where blood was withdrawn. In some cases, the vein may become swollen after the blood sample is collected (phlebitis), but this can be reversed by making a compress several times a day.

People who use anticoagulant medications or have coagulation problems may suffer from a bleeding after collection. In these cases, it is important to inform the health care professional of the problem prior to collection.

Results

The test results are usually available four days to one week after collection. The interpretation of the CA-125 exam depends on the reason why it was required. Therefore, it is important to talk to your doctor about any questions you may have.

Normal results

TGO levels are measured in units of atomic mass (U) per milliliter of blood (ml). The value considered normal is 35 U / mL or below, and the minimum limit for antigen detection in the test is usually 0.6 U / mL.

The reference values ​​shown here are only a guide, since may change from laboratory to laboratory. In addition, the physician or physician will evaluate the results according to the patient and their characteristics, such as age and related diseases.

Abnormal results

Conditions that increase CA-125 amounts in the blood are:

  • Hepatic disease, such as hepatitis or cirrhosis
  • Pancreatitis
  • Lupus
  • Uterine fibroids
  • The types of cancer that can raise levels of CA-125 include:
  • Ovarian cancer (most common)
  • Endometrial cancer

Cancer of the fallopian tubes

  • Pancreatic cancer
  • Stomach cancer
  • Esophageal cancer
  • Cancer of the liver
  • Breast cancer
  • Colon cancer
  • Lung cancer
  • Tumors that spread through the peritoneum, including lymphoma. These types of cancer usually occur along with the accumulation of fluid in the abdomen (ascites).
  • Other conditions can raise CA-125 levels, such as the menstrual cycle and pregnancy in the first trimester.
  • What may affect the test result?
  • Some situations may affect the test results:

Use of medicines to treat cancer

Recent abdominal surgeries

Recent exams using radioactive material


    Stroke risk factors also favor mental decline

    Stroke risk factors also favor mental decline

    Neurology , has shown that the greater the risk of a person suffering from a stroke, the more likely they are to suffer from mental decline. The analysis was led by researchers at the Indiana University School of Medicine in the United States. More than 23,000 people aged at least 45 years have been followed for four years.

    (Health)

    What is hidradenitis suppurativa?

    What is hidradenitis suppurativa?

    Sometimes also called "hidrosadenitis" or "reverse acne" by dermatologists, hidradenitis suppurativa manifests itself in several ways, which may vary from person to person. Lighter forms of suppurative hidradenitis may occur with the appearance of small nodules, blackheads, or some cysts, whereas people with more severe forms of the disease may have repeated or multiple abscesses that sometimes release pus with a odor unpleasant.

    (Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

CA-125: l'examen évalue le risque de cancer de l'ovaire

CA-125: l'examen évalue le risque de cancer de l'ovaire

L'examen CA-125 mesure la quantité de ce marqueur tumoral dans le sang. antigène CA-125 est une protéine présente dans les cellules cancéreuses de l'ovaire plus, et est donc couramment utilisé pendant et après le traitement.

Dans certains cas, CA-125 peut être utilisé pour évaluer les signes avant-coureurs de cancer de l'ovaire ou des patients à haut risque pour ce type de tumeur.

Le corps produit naturellement de petites quantités de CA-125, ce qui n'indique aucune maladie. Certaines situations ce marqueur comme les menstruations, la grossesse et la maladie inflammatoire pelvienne.

Une augmentation significative de CA-125 dans le sang peut peut augmenter modérément les niveaux d'indiquer la présence de cancer de l'ovaire, ou, dans certains cas, d'autres types de tumeurs tels que cancer de l'ovaire, de l'endomètre péritonéale ou les trompes de Fallope.

Indications

examen CA-125 est principalement utilisé pour surveiller le traitement du cancer de l'ovaire. Il peut également être utilisé pour détecter si le cancer est revenu après le traitement.

Le test est parfois utilisé pour tester et surveiller les femmes à haut risque de cancer de l'ovaire mais qui ne sont pas encore atteintes. Cependant, le test n'est pas utilisé pour le dépistage du cancer de l'ovaire - comment se fait la mammographie pour le cancer du sein? puisque toutes les femmes ayant des niveaux élevés de présents CA-125 cancer et vice-versa.

Parfois, le test CA-125 peut être commandé avec une échographie transvaginale pour aider le dépistage précoce du cancer de l'ovaire chez les femmes à haut risque de développer la maladie. Vous pouvez aussi parfois être commandé pour aider à enquêter d'autres tumeurs, comme le cancer de l'ovaire, de l'endomètre, des tubes ou péritonéal utérines.

Contre-indications

Compte tenu de cela est un sang commun, il n'y a pas de contre-indications exprimées à CA -125. Cependant, le médecin vous dira si oui ou non vous pouvez passer l'examen.

Enceinte faire?

Les femmes pendant la grossesse sont autorisés à passer l'examen comme un avis médical, sans contre-indications. Cependant, la gestation peut augmenter les taux de CA-125 sans maladie ou condition grave

Préparation à l'examen

Aucune préparation spéciale n'est requise pour l'examen CA-125. Mais il est important de dire au médecin ou au médecin quels sont les médicaments que vous prenez régulièrement, y compris les suppléments alimentaires. Dans certains cas, il peut être nécessaire d'arrêter d'utiliser le médicament.

Comment cela est fait

Dans un hôpital ou un laboratoire, l'examen CA-125 est effectué par un professionnel de la santé comme suit:

  • Avec le patient assis, un élastique est attaché autour de son bras pour arrêter l'écoulement du sang. Cela provoque les veines deviennent plus larges, aider les professionnels à frapper l'un d'entre eux
  • Professional facilite le nettoyage avec la zone du bras de l'alcool à être pénétré par l'aiguille
  • L'aiguille est insérée dans la veine. Cela peut être fait plus d'une fois, jusqu'à ce que l'ensemble professionnel de la santé de la veine et peut prélever du sang
  • sang prélevé dans la seringue et placée dans un tube
  • L'élastique est retiré et une gaze est mis en où le professionnel de la santé a inséré l'aiguille, pour prévenir tout saignement. Il ou elle peut faire pression sur le bandage pour arrêter le saignement
  • Un pansement est placé sur le site

test sanguin :. Connaître le chemin que votre sang est après la collecte

durée du temps de test

Un examen CA-125 prend quelques minutes et peut prendre plus de temps dans les cas où le fournisseur de soins de santé éprouve des difficultés à atteindre la veine pour prélever le sang.

Recommandations postérieures à l'examen

Il n'y a pas de recommandations spéciales après l'examen. Le patient peut faire ses activités normalement. Si l'échantillon de sang est utilisé pour d'autres tests nécessitant rapidement, le patient peut être alimenté après la collecte.

Fréquence d'examen

Risque Les risques liés à l'exécution du CA-125 test sont extrêmement rares . Tout au plus, il peut y avoir un hématome sur le site où le sang a été retiré. Dans certains cas, la veine peut devenir enflé après que l'échantillon de sang est recueilli (phlébite), mais cela peut être inversé en faisant une compresse plusieurs fois par jour.

Les personnes qui utilisent des médicaments anticoagulants ou qui ont des problèmes de coagulation peuvent souffrir avec saignement après la collecte. Dans de tels cas, il est important d'informer le fournisseur du problème avant la collecte.

Résultats

Les résultats du sondage sont disponibles souvent quatre jours par semaine après la collecte. L'interprétation de l'examen CA-125 dépend de la raison pour laquelle il était requis. Il est donc important de parler avec le médecin ou le médecin de prendre des questions.

Résultats normaux

niveaux de SGOT sont mesurés dans l'unité de masse atomique (U) par millilitre de sang (ml). La valeur normale est considérée comme 35 U / ml ou au-dessous, et la limite minimale pour la détection de l'antigène dans le test est habituellement 0,6 U / ml.

Les valeurs de référence présentées ici ne sont qu'un guide depuis peut changer de laboratoire en laboratoire. En outre, le médecin évaluera les résultats en fonction du patient et de ses caractéristiques telles que l'âge et les maladies apparentées

Résultats anormaux

Conditions qui augmentent la quantité de CA-125 dans le sang sont :.

  • la maladie inflammatoire pelvienne (PID)
  • l'endométriose
  • fibrose utérine
  • maladies du foie telles que l'hépatite ou la cirrhose
  • pancréatite
  • Lupus
  • myome utérin

les types de cancer qui peuvent augmenter les niveaux CA-125 comprennent:

  • cancer de l'ovaire (le plus courant)
  • cancer de l'endomètre
  • trompes de Fallope de cancer
  • cancer du pancréas
  • cancer de l'estomac
  • cancer de l'œsophage
  • cancer dans le foie
  • du cancer du sein
  • cancer du côlon
  • cancer du poumon
  • tumeurs qui se propagent sur le péritoine, y compris le lymphome. Ces cancers se produisent généralement avec l'accumulation de liquide dans l'abdomen (ascite)

D'autres situations peuvent élever les niveaux de CA-125, comme le cycle menstruel et la grossesse au cours du premier trimestre.

Qu'est-ce qui peut affecter le résultat du test?

Certaines situations peuvent affecter les résultats du test:

  • Utilisation de médicaments pour traiter le cancer
  • Chirurgies abdominales récentes
  • Examens récents utilisant des matières radioactives


Redémarrer dans le sport: «J'ai appris que je pouvais faire des choses que vous pensiez impossible »

Redémarrer dans le sport: «J'ai appris que je pouvais faire des choses que vous pensiez impossible »

Sport sert un nouveau départ pour de nombreuses personnes et Un excellent exemple de ceci est l'histoire de l'athlète Piauí Luis Carlos Cardoso, 35 ans. En 2009, il a commencé à ressentir de fortes douleurs dans son corps et lorsqu'il a été hospitalisé, on a découvert qu'un parasite s'était logé dans sa moelle (schistosomiase médullaire).

(Santé)

La consommation d'alcool favorise une mauvaise alimentation, selon l'étude

La consommation d'alcool favorise une mauvaise alimentation, selon l'étude

Boire des boissons alcoolisées tous les jours ou seulement occasionnellement, ou en toute quantité, affecte négativement la qualité des habitudes alimentaires. Telle est la conclusion d'une étude réalisée au Département de médecine préventive et de santé publique de l'Université Autonome de Madrid (Espagne).

(Santé)