en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Multiple sclerosis receives experimental treatment

Multiple sclerosis receives experimental treatment

The results were promising compared to the conventional treatments available today. In a group of 52 patients, only 3 presented some worsening in their condition three years after the procedure, unlike the control group, which in a total of 50 patients, 30 worsened.

The treatment aims to cease the attack immune system to brain cells with a radical approach: their destruction and reconstruction. "We are not trying to regenerate the neurons, what we are trying to do is to get the immune system to stop attacking the brain to allow it to recover," said Richard Burt, project leader in an interview for the O Globo newspaper. What is it?

Multiple sclerosis is an autoimmune disease that affects the brain, optic nerves, and spinal cord (central nervous system). This is because the body's immune system confuses healthy cells with "intruders," and attacks them by causing injuries. The patient's immune system erodes the protective nerve sheath known as myelin. Myelin damage causes interference in communication between the brain, spinal cord and other areas of the central nervous system.

How is the experimental treatment performed?

In therapy, hematopoietic stem cells are collected from the patient, present in the blood and in the bone marrow, which are only able to differentiate into blood cells (red blood cells, white blood cells, etc.).

Next, potent chemotherapeutic drugs are given for the total removal of the person's immune system, ceasing inflammation in the brain . Then, the collected hematopoietic stem cells are injected back into the patient so that they rebuild the immune system.


Preventing mosquito bites prevents diseases like malaria and dengue

Preventing mosquito bites prevents diseases like malaria and dengue

Dengue, yellow fever, malaria, filariasis, leishmaniasis. Did you know that all these diseases are transmitted by mosquitoes? These mosquitoes function as a vector, that is, they transmit the disease. The mosquito Aedes aegypti is now a vector of three diseases in Brazil: zika virus, dengue fever and chikungunya fever.

(Health)

Microcephaly: 97 cases had a confirmed relationship with Zika virus

Microcephaly: 97 cases had a confirmed relationship with Zika virus

The Ministry of Health and the states investigate 4,268 suspected cases of microcephaly throughout the country. This represents 65.9% of reported cases. The new report released on Wednesday (16) also indicates that 2,212 cases were investigated and classified, 1,349 discarded and 863 confirmed for microcephaly and other disorders of the nervous system, suggestive of congenital infection.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

La sclérose en plaques reçoit un traitement expérimental

La sclérose en plaques reçoit un traitement expérimental

Les résultats étaient prometteurs par rapport aux traitements conventionnels disponibles aujourd'hui. Dans un groupe de 52 patients, seulement 3 ont montré une certaine détérioration de son cadre trois ans après la procédure, à la différence du groupe témoin, pour un total de 50 patients, 30 avaient une aggravation.

Le traitement vise à arrêter l'attaque système immunitaire aux cellules du cerveau avec une approche radicale: leur destruction et leur reconstruction. « Nous ne cherchons pas à régénérer les neurones. Ce que nous essayons est d'obtenir le système immunitaire d'arrêter d'attaquer le cerveau pour lui permettre de récupérer », a déclaré Richard Burt, chef de projet dans une interview au journal O Globo.

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

La sclérose en plaques est une maladie auto-immune qui affecte le cerveau, les nerfs optiques et la moelle épinière (système nerveux central). C'est parce que le système immunitaire du corps confond les cellules saines avec des «intrus», et les attaque en causant des blessures. Le système immunitaire du patient érode la gaine protectrice du nerf connue sous le nom de myéline. Les dommages à la myéline provoque des interférences dans la communication entre le cerveau, la moelle épinière et d'autres domaines du système nerveux central.

Comment est le traitement expérimental?

Dans la thérapie est collecté des cellules souches hématopoïétiques du patient, présents dans le sang et la moelle osseuse, qui sont seulement capables de se différencier en cellules sanguines (globules rouges, globules blancs, etc ...).

puis les médicaments de chimiothérapie puissants sont donnés pour l'élimination complète du système immunitaire de la personne, l'inflammation cesse dans le cerveau . Ensuite, les cellules souches hématopoïétiques recueillies sont réinjectées dans le patient afin qu'elles reconstruisent le système immunitaire.


Les patients se plaignent du manque d'information avant les traitements et les chirurgies

Les patients se plaignent du manque d'information avant les traitements et les chirurgies

Décider de subir une intervention chirurgicale ou un traitement invasif n'est pas facile, alors il est courant de vouloir connaître tous les détails et les risques possibles avant de commencer. Être préparé est essentiel au succès de la procédure, et le patient et le médecin le savent. Pourtant, un nombre croissant de poursuites contre les médecins a piqué la curiosité des chercheurs de l'Université de Melbourne, en Australie.

(Santé)

Existe-t-il un minimum de graisse dans le corps?

Existe-t-il un minimum de graisse dans le corps?

Elle est le bourreau des régimes, et l'une des plus grandes préoccupations pour quiconque veut avoir un corps sain: le pourcentage redouté de graisse corporelle. Mais, est-ce si mauvais? Le pourcentage de graisse corporelle est la quantité de graisse que nous avons dans notre corps, qui comprend la graisse "essentielle" et la graisse "stock" - notre réserve d'énergie.

(Santé)