en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Mumps: 6 doubts about the disease in adults

Mumps: 6 doubts about the disease in adults

Mumps is a common childhood illness, but it can appear in adults as well. Usually when it comes up at this time, it can be more serious. To help, we talked to experts to get questions about mumps in adulthood.

Can every adult get mumps?

Mumps are a much more common illness in children. "It usually occurs in children not vaccinated against mumps, rubella and measles (MMR) or who have not received all doses of this vaccine yet," explains infectious disease specialist Juliana Tangerino, a member of the Brazilian Society of Infectious Diseases (SBI).

In addition, it is the type of disease that once has, the body develops an immune response that does not allow it to return. Therefore, adults who have had mumps in childhood have no chance of contracting the disease. However, an adult who has not had the disease previously, in childhood for example, and has not taken all doses of the vaccine within 30 days is more vulnerable to mumps.

Therefore, we can consider that its incidence is rare. "90% of virus attacks occur in children up to 15 years of age," says Ivan Marinho, infectious disease specialist at the São Camilo Hospitals Network in São Paulo.

Are the symptoms of mumps in adults stronger? Yes, the disease usually manifests itself more intensely in adults. Juliana Tangerino explains that this is mainly because the immune system is more mature. The symptoms of a disease are a result of our body's action on the virus and the adult's immune response is much more potent than that of a child.

Remembering that the main symptoms of mumps are fever, weakness and the characteristic increased salivary glands on one or both sides, causing swelling just below the ear between the jaw and neck.

Are there cases of asymptomatic mumps?

Mumps may be asymptomatic in between 30 and 40% of cases , but this is much more common in children than in adults, as emphasized by Ivan Marinho. Because the disease is much more common in children.

What is the treatment for mumps in adults?

In both adults and children, mumps are treated only in their symptoms, without a specific medicine for their virus. "The most important thing is to respect the rest time and maintain a good diet and hydration, consuming light foods, avoiding fats and prioritizing items that give energy to the body, such as carbohydrates," teaches Marinho. Feeding and resting are important for the proper functioning of the immune system, which ensures that the body will fight the mumps virus efficiently.

Mumps in adulthood causes more complications?

Complications of mumps in children and adults are the same, inflamed testicles (orchitis), ovaries (oophoritis) and pancreas (pancreatitis). It can also attack the thyroid and cause encephalitis and meningitis. "The mumps virus has preference for gland tissue, so its complications are more common in these organs," says Marinho. When the mumps virus attacks the ovaries and testicles is the most serious complication, since it can cause sterility.

To avoid complications, it is best to rest and follow medical recommendations. "However, complications occur as a consequence of each individual's response to the disease, so there is no specific way to prevent them," says Juliana.

Is it possible to prevent mumps?

The best possible prevention measure for mumps is vaccination and this has already been proven in epidemiological data. In the United States, for example, from 1968 to 1985 there was a 98% drop in the incidence of this disease, thanks to the implantation of the vaccine, as Marinho considers.Vaccination should be done within 30 days between doses depending on the vaccination schedule, or the effect is not the same and immunity against the virus is compromised.

Furthermore, it is important that the person with mumps isolates from the others, "away from usual activities 5 days after the onset of swelling of the salivary glands," says Juliana.


WHO report finds that 1 in 3 adults have hypertension and 1 in 10 suffers from diabetes

WHO report finds that 1 in 3 adults have hypertension and 1 in 10 suffers from diabetes

The WHO study includes information from 194 countries on high blood pressure and blood glucose levels in men and women. According to the data, in some African countries, half the adult population suffers from high blood pressure. About diabetes, while the global average of patients is 10%, in some Pacific countries, the incidence is one-third of the population.

(Health)

Reducing sodium intake may cut stomach cancer risk

Reducing sodium intake may cut stomach cancer risk

(WCRF), the average daily food intake by the population is 8.6 g, 43% higher than that recommended. Second the researchers in general, stomach cancer is diagnosed at an advanced stage, making only 15% of patients have a survival for a period longer than five years. Therefore, Kate Mendoza, head of health information at the WCRF reinforces the need for preventive measures.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Oreillons: 6 doutes sur la maladie chez les adultes

Oreillons: 6 doutes sur la maladie chez les adultes

Les oreillons sont une maladie infantile fréquente, mais ils peuvent aussi apparaître chez les adultes. Habituellement, quand cela arrive, cela peut être plus grave. Pour aider, nous avons demandé à des experts de poser des questions sur les oreillons à l'âge adulte.

Chaque adulte peut-il attraper des oreillons?

Les oreillons sont une maladie beaucoup plus courante chez les enfants. « Il se produit généralement chez les enfants non vaccinés contre les oreillons, la rubéole et la rougeole (ROR) ou qui n'a pas reçu toutes les doses de ce vaccin encore », explique Juliana tangerino infectieuse, membre de la Société brésilienne des maladies infectieuses (SBI)

Dans De plus, c'est le type de maladie qui a une fois, le corps développe une réponse immunitaire qui ne lui permet pas de revenir. Par conséquent, les adultes qui ont eu les oreillons dans l'enfance n'ont aucune chance de contracter la maladie. Cependant, un adulte qui n'a pas eu la maladie auparavant, dans l'enfance par exemple, et qui n'a pas pris toutes les doses du vaccin dans les 30 jours est plus vulnérable aux oreillons.

On peut donc considérer que son incidence est rare. "90% des attaques de virus se produit chez les enfants de moins de 15 ans," Friza infectiologue Ivan Marino, Réseau Hôpitaux St. Camillus de São Paulo.

Les symptômes des oreillons chez les adultes sont plus forts?

Oui, la maladie se manifeste généralement plus intensément chez les adultes. Juliana Tangerino explique que c'est principalement parce que le système immunitaire est plus mature. Les symptômes d'une maladie sont le résultat de l'action de notre corps sur le virus et la réponse immunitaire d'un adulte est beaucoup plus puissant que celui d'un enfant.

Rappelez-vous que les principaux symptômes des oreillons sont la fièvre, la faiblesse et la caractéristique élargissement des glandes salivaires sur un ou deux côtés, ce qui provoque un gonflement juste en dessous de l'oreille, entre la mâchoire et le cou.

Il y a des cas d'oreillons asymptomatiques?

les oreillons peuvent être asymptomatiques dans 30 à 40% des cas , mais ceci est beaucoup plus fréquent chez les enfants que chez les adultes, comme le souligne Ivan Marinho. Parce que la maladie est beaucoup plus fréquente chez les enfants

Quel est le traitement des oreillons chez les adultes

Chez les adultes et les enfants, les oreillons sont traités uniquement dans leurs symptômes, sans un médicament spécifique pour leur virus. "Le plus important est de respecter le temps de repos et de maintenir une bonne alimentation et hydratation, en consommant des aliments légers, en évitant les graisses et en privilégiant les éléments qui donnent de l'énergie au corps, comme les hydrates de carbone". L'alimentation et le repos sont importants pour le bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire, ce qui assure que le corps à combattre efficacement le virus des oreillons.

Oreillons à l'âge adulte provoque plus de complications?

Les complications des oreillons chez les enfants et les adultes sont les mêmes, les testicules enflammés (orchite), les ovaires (ovariose) et le pancréas (pancréatite). Il peut également attaquer la thyroïde et provoquer une encéphalite et une méningite. "Le virus des oreillons a la préférence pour le tissu des glandes, de sorte que ses complications sont plus fréquentes dans ces organes", explique Marinho. Lorsque le virus des oreillons attaque les ovaires et les testicules, c'est la complication la plus grave, car elle peut causer la stérilité.

Pour éviter les complications, il est préférable de se reposer et de suivre les recommandations médicales. « Toutefois, des complications surviennent à la suite de chaque réponse individuelle de la maladie, alors il n'y a aucun moyen spécifique pour les empêcher », estime Juliana.

Vous pouvez empêcher les oreillons?

La meilleure mesure de prévention pour les oreillons est la vaccination et cela a déjà été prouvé dans les données épidémiologiques. Aux États-Unis, par exemple, de 1968 à 1985, l'incidence de cette maladie a chuté de 98%, grâce à l'implantation du vaccin, estime Marinho.La vaccination doit être faite dans les 30 jours entre les doses selon le calendrier de vaccination, ou l'effet n'est pas le même et l'immunité contre le virus est compromise.

En outre, il est important que la personne avec des oreillons s'isole des autres, "loin des activités habituelles 5 jours après le début du gonflement des glandes salivaires", explique Juliana.


Le Secrétariat à la Santé confirme le troisième décès dû à la fièvre jaune dans le Grand São Paulo

Le Secrétariat à la Santé confirme le troisième décès dû à la fièvre jaune dans le Grand São Paulo

Le ministère de la Santé de São Paulo a confirmé samedi (06) la mort d'une autre personne infectée par le virus de la fièvre jaune. Avec le registre, le nombre de cas recensés dans le Grand São Paulo est passé à trois. Le cas le plus récent est celui d'un homme de 69 ans vivant à Guarulhos. Il est mort le 25 décembre, après avoir été infecté dans sa ferme, à Nazaré Paulista, une municipalité située près de la frontière avec la ville de Mairiporã.

(Santé)

Une mauvaise qualité de l'air affecte la santé de tout votre corps

Une mauvaise qualité de l'air affecte la santé de tout votre corps

Surtout dans les grandes métropoles, la mauvaise qualité de l'air que nous respirons est inquiétante. Les experts indiquent que l'un des grands méchants responsables non seulement des maladies respiratoires, mais aussi cardiovasculaires. La combustion des combustibles fossiles libère un certain nombre de particules nocives pour la santé et plus elles sont petites, plus dangereux.

(Santé)