en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

New hopes for obesity treatment

New hopes for obesity treatment

Anti-obesity drugs have been stigmatized for a long time. Many people are against the use of medical or even surgical treatment for this disease.

The classic clinical treatment of obesity is based on multidisciplinary programs of dietary guidelines, physical activity enhancement and behavioral change. Although this therapeutic strategy is well established as an effective treatment method for weight reduction, a large proportion of individuals are refractory to this approach and weight regain is a rule (Serdula MK et al., 1993).

In addition, these procedures have not been able to prevent the growing obesity epidemic that is out of control in many countries, including Brazil. Unfortunately, the prejudice against medication against the disease remains great. This barrier by many people should, however, be gradually transposed by the results of clinical research in this field.

The need for medication assistance for treatment and control of obesity stems from the frequent failure of classical treatment combined with a better understanding of the biological aspects of this disease, since it is a chronic and multifactorial disease, an extremely difficult treatment. These two factors resulted in the attempt to associate these two proposals with the goal of providing more effective therapy. However, in 2011, the therapeutic arsenal available for the treatment of obesity was very limited in Brazil after the withdrawal of three drugs : amfepramone, fenproporex and mazindol. Only sibutramine was maintained, and yet with stricter control, which greatly restricted the treatment of this disease, even for obese diabetics, as well as those who do not respond or do not tolerate this medicine. This made the endocrinologists very apprehensive not only about the possible increase in the prevalence of obese (including morbid) people but also the gain in weight of individuals who benefited from withdrawn medications.

New drugs

Certainly , the decision to medicate an obese patient should take each individual into account in terms of the potential risks and benefits. "

However, very encouraging news has just been released. The FDA (Food and Drugs Administration), which regulates the marketing of medicines in the United States, which had not approved a new anti-obesity substance 13 years ago, has just authorized the release of two new drugs.

One of them has just been released (07/17/2012) by the FDA and has the trade name of Qsymia, from Vivus Inc. The product is composed of two substances: phentermine and topiramate. Studies have shown that Qsymia when used at the maximum recommended dose is able to promote, on average, a sustained reduction of about 9% of body weight. In addition, a 5% reduction in weight was observed in about 70% of treated patients (Garvey et al., 2012). Qsymia is expected to be available in the US market in the fourth quarter of 2012.

Phentermine, one of the compounds of the approved combination, is an agent that acts on catecholamines (adrenaline and noradrenaline) and is already available in the US market many years ago. Its side effects are very similar to those of amfepramone and fenproporex, such as: dryness of the mouth, irritability, anxiety, insomnia, tremor and imprisoned intestine (Kang et al., 2012). Topiramate (the other compound) is an anticonvulsant drug that can induce side effects such as paresthesia (tingling sensation), dizziness, taste disturbance, drowsiness and reduced appetite (Kang et al., 2012). The combination of phentermine and topiramate is especially interesting as it acts synergistically enhancing the power to decrease appetite and reduces the adverse effects of both drugs.Another anti-obesity medication, locarserin (Belviq, from Arena Pharmaceuticals) was approved by the FDA for the treatment of obese adults (BMI of 30 or over) or overweight (Body Mass Index - BMI of 27 or more), who have at least one more associated complication, such as diabetes mellitus type II, high blood pressure or high cholesterol levels. Differently from Qsymia, Belvic stimulates the serotonin receptor, ie, it is a serotonergic agent, which acts to increase satiety and, consequently, to reduce food intake.

Studies have shown good safety for the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems (BLOOM-DM). The most commonly observed side effects were headache, fatigue, dizziness, nausea and arrest. This drug was shown to promote a 3% reduction in weight more than in the placebo group after one year. This means that its efficacy is lower than that of sibutramine, orlistat and the new Qsymia (phentermine and topiramate).

Even though it is not superior to the medicines available on the market, locarserine may be a new option, especially for patients who do not tolerate the other drugs, since we have very few drugs available to treat obesity. Thus, both approved drugs can be used as adjuncts to patients who are unsuccessful through classical treatment, since they have been shown to be effective in promoting weight reduction and the benefits of their use were considered to be greater than the risks resulting from obesity, which predisposes to numerous health problems and results in a significant reduction in quality of life.

Certainly, the decision to medicate an obese patient should consider each individual in terms of the potential risks and benefits. It will be crucial that research continues at a rapid pace to improve new and increasingly effective and safe drugs, with the aim of alleviating the suffering of patients with this disease.

Finally, the FDA's position to approve these drugs demonstrates that this agency has revised its previous position, probably in the face of the results of extensive research in the field and the urgent need to contain a true obesity epidemic. But in Brazil, for now, there is no information about the possibility of approval.


Zika: Florida already has 14 cases of local transmission

Zika: Florida already has 14 cases of local transmission

The city of Miami has already filed 14 cases of Zika virus with local transmission by mosquitoes. The country's health officials recommended Monday that pregnant women should avoid traveling to the city, especially the Wynwood neighborhood, a region north of Miami where there are a number of museums, ateliers and theaters.

(Health)

New Immunotherapy Treatment Shows Good Results Against Breast Cancer

New Immunotherapy Treatment Shows Good Results Against Breast Cancer

The treatment would help the immune system recognize HER2 protein in breast cancer cells. Their approach involves the creation of the immune cell vaccine, called dendritic cells that are harvested from each individual patient and then used to create a personalized vaccine for each patient. The researchers conducted clinical trials in 54 women with cancer of early HER2-expressing breast cancer to determine the efficacy of the treatment.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

De nouveaux espoirs pour le traitement de l'obésité

De nouveaux espoirs pour le traitement de l'obésité

Les médicaments anti-obésité ont été stigmatisés pendant longtemps. Beaucoup de gens sont contre l'utilisation du traitement médical ou même chirurgical pour cette maladie.

Le traitement clinique classique de l'obésité est basé sur des programmes multidisciplinaires de directives diététiques, une activité physique augmentée et un changement de comportement. Bien que cette stratégie thérapeutique soit bien établie en tant que méthode de traitement efficace pour la réduction du poids, une grande proportion d'individus sont réfractaires à cette approche et le regain de poids est une règle (Serdula MK et al., 1993). > En outre, ces procédures n'ont pas été en mesure de prévenir l'épidémie croissante d'obésité qui est hors de contrôle dans de nombreux pays, y compris le Brésil. Malheureusement, le préjugé contre les médicaments contre la maladie reste grand. Cette barrière pour de nombreuses personnes devrait cependant être progressivement transposée par les résultats des recherches cliniques menées dans ce domaine.

Le besoin d'assistance médicamenteuse pour le traitement et le contrôle de l'obésité provient de l'échec fréquent du traitement classique associé à une meilleure compréhension des aspects biologiques de cette maladie, car il s'agit d'une maladie chronique et multifactorielle, un traitement extrêmement difficile. Ces deux facteurs ont conduit à tenter d'associer ces deux propositions dans le but de fournir une thérapie plus efficace, mais en 2011, l'arsenal thérapeutique disponible pour le traitement de l'obésité était très limité au Brésil après le retrait de trois médicaments. : amfépramone, fenproporex et mazindol. Seule la sibutramine a été maintenue, mais avec un contrôle plus strict, ce qui a considérablement restreint le traitement de cette maladie, même pour les diabétiques obèses, ainsi que ceux qui ne répondent pas ou ne tolèrent pas ce médicament. Cela a laissé endocrinologues très inquiets non seulement l'augmentation possible de la prévalence des personnes en surpoids (y compris morbide), mais aussi avec le gain de poids des personnes qui ont bénéficié des produits retirés.

Nouveaux médicaments

« Certainement la décision de soigner un patient obèse devrait tenir compte de chaque individu en termes de risques et d'avantages potentiels. »

Cependant, des nouvelles très encourageantes viennent d'être publiées. La FDA (Food and Drugs Administration), l'organisme qui réglemente la vente de médicaments aux États-Unis, qui il y a 13 ans n'a pas approuvé une nouvelle obésité substance, simplement autoriser la libération de deux nouveaux médicaments.

L'un d'eux vient d'être publié (07/17/2012) par la FDA et a le nom commercial de Qsymia, de Vivus Inc. Le produit est composé de deux substances: phentermine et topiramate. Des études ont montré que Qsymia, lorsqu'il est utilisé à la dose maximale recommandée, est capable de promouvoir, en moyenne, une réduction soutenue d'environ 9% du poids corporel. En outre, une réduction de 5% du poids a été observée chez environ 70% des patients traités (Garvey et al., 2012). Il est prévu que Qsymia est disponible sur le marché américain au cours du quatrième trimestre de 2012.

Phentermine, l'un des composés de la combinaison approuvée, est un agent qui agit sur catécholamines (adrénaline et noradrénaline) et est maintenant disponible sur le marché américain il y a plusieurs années. Ses effets secondaires sont très semblables à ceux de l'amfépramone et fenproporex, tels que la bouche sèche, l'irritabilité, l'anxiété, l'insomnie, des tremblements et constipé (Kang et al, 2012.). Etant donné que le topiramate (l'autre composé) est un médicament anticonvulsivant qui peut induire des effets secondaires tels que la paresthésie (picotements), le vertige, l'altération du goût, de la somnolence et une diminution de l'appétit (Kang et al., 2012). La combinaison de phentermine et de topiramate est particulièrement intéressante car elle agit de manière synergique en augmentant le pouvoir de diminuer l'appétit et de réduire les effets indésirables des deux médicaments.D'autres médicaments anti-obésité, locarserina (Belviq, laboratoire Arena Pharmaceuticals) a été approuvé par la FDA pour le traitement des adultes obèses (IMC de 30 ou plus) ou en surpoids (indice de masse corporelle - IMC - 27 ou plus), ayant au moins un d'autres complications associées telles que le diabète sucré de type II, l'hypertension artérielle ou de l'hypercholestérolémie. Contrairement à la Qsymia Belvic stimule le récepteur de la sérotonine, ou est un agent sérotoninergique, qui agit et donc augmentation de la satiété la réduction de la consommation alimentaire.

Des études ont montré une bonne sécurité pour le système cardio-vasculaire et pulmonaire (BLOOM-DM). Les effets secondaires les plus fréquemment observés ont été des maux de tête, la fatigue, des étourdissements, des nausées et constipé. Ce médicament a été montré pour être en mesure de réduire de 3% en poids plus que le groupe placebo après un an. Cela signifie que leur efficacité est inférieure à celle de la sibutramine, l'orlistat et la nouvelle Qsymia (phentermine et topiramate).

Même si pas supérieurs aux médicaments sur le marché, certainement le locarserina peut être une nouvelle option, en particulier pour les patients qui ils ne tolèrent pas d'autres médicaments, puisque nous avons très peu de médicaments disponibles pour traiter l'obésité. Ainsi, les deux médicaments approuvés peuvent être utilisés comme aides pour les patients qui ne parviennent pas à travers le traitement classique, comme l'ont prouvé leur efficacité dans la promotion de la réduction du poids et les avantages de son utilisation ont été considérés comme plus importants que les risques de l'obésité, ce qui prédispose à de nombreux problèmes de santé et les résultats en matière de réduction significative de la qualité de vie.

bien sûr, la décision de médicamenter un patient obèse doit prendre en considération chaque individu en fonction des risques potentiels et des avantages. Il est essentiel que la recherche continue au même rythme pour l'amélioration de nouveaux médicaments, en plus efficaces et sûrs pour alléger les souffrances des patients atteints par cette maladie.

Enfin, la position de la FDA pour approuver ces médicaments il démontre que cette agence a revu sa position précédente, probablement en raison des résultats de recherches approfondies dans la région et le besoin urgent d'aborder une épidémie réelle de l'obésité. Mais au Brésil, pour l'instant, il n'y a pas d'information sur la possibilité d'une approbation.


Lais Souza se tient séance de thérapie physique

Lais Souza se tient séance de thérapie physique

L'ancien gymnaste Lais Souza a obtenu des réalisations importantes dans leur rétablissement. Récemment, elle a posté une vidéo sur son Instagram où elle apparaît debout. Les images ont été capturées lors d'une séance de physiothérapie. Pour rester debout, Lais comptait sur l'aide d'un stabilisateur. En outre, elle a également effectué des mouvements avec son bras droit.

(Santé)

Chirurgie peut arrêter les crises chez les patients souffrant d'épilepsie

Chirurgie peut arrêter les crises chez les patients souffrant d'épilepsie

Une étude publiée dans la revue médicale The Lancet a révélé que près de la moitié des personnes atteintes d'épilepsie n'ont pas de crises depuis au moins 10 ans après avoir subi une chirurgie du cerveau contre la maladie. L'analyse a été menée par des scientifiques à Hôpital national de neurochirurgie à l'University College de Londres en Angleterre.

(Santé)