en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Nicotine gum: know the pros and cons of this treatment to stop smoking

Nicotine gum: know the pros and cons of this treatment to stop smoking

Nicotine chewing gum is one of the methods in Nicotine Replacement Therapy (NRT), which replaces the substance responsible for cigarette addiction, excluding the other ones, which do bad the health. This prevents nicotine withdrawal and helps to stop smoking.

One such method is nicotine gum, which usually comes with 4 or 2 mg of nicotine per gum. Nicotine patch usually has greater adhesion than it does, but even so, it is a widely used method, especially for times of fissure.

For nicotine gum is indicated

Nicotine Replacement Therapy, which includes nicotine gum, is usually indicated for patients who have high dependence on cigarettes, when there is a history of withdrawal when the person is deprived of the smoke or if he scored more than five in a specific test called the Fagerström Test.

How nicotine chewing works

Nicotine chewing gum has a tooth from its capsule, which is released during chewing, where it is absorbed directly by the buccal mucosa or through the digestion . How to Use Nicotine Chewing Gum

Unlike ordinary chewing gum, you should chew nicotine chewing gum hard enough and when you start to taste the nicotine, place it between the gums and the side of the cheek, leaving there until the taste disappears. After 30 minutes, you can already discard the chewing gum.

Placing on the side of the mouth is important because nicotine is better absorbed there than in the rest of the digestive system, which results in the absorption of the equivalent of half the nicotine of a cigarette. In addition, when nicotine is absorbed in the stomach or intestine, much of it will be metabolized by the liver and will not reach the central nervous system, where it will act to quench abstinence.

It is important not to drink water while chewing, the nicotine is swallowed. In addition, smoking and using chewing gum in large amounts can lead to intoxication from excess nicotine in the body.

Doctors usually indicate the schemes of use of these chewing gum according to the degree of addiction. If the person smokes 20 or more cigarettes per day, the treatment will last 12 weeks, in which:

Week 1 to 4 = 4 mg gum every 1 to 2 hours

  • Week 5 to 8 = gum 2 mg to every 2 to 4 hours
  • Week 9 to 12 = 2 mg gum every 4 to 8 hours
  • If the patient smokes less than 20 cigarettes per day, the schedule is slightly different:

Week 1 to 4 = 2 mg gum every 1 to 2 hours

  • Week 5 to 8 = 2 mg gum every 2 to 4 hours
  • Week 9 to 12 = gum 2 mg every 4 to 8 hours
  • Expected results

Nicotine gum usually is most effective when used as an ally of the patch because while the latter brings constant and small amounts of nicotine throughout the day, the chewing gum would control cracking moments. For this reason, there are not many studies that evidence the success of chewing gum alone.

However, it is possible to be more successful in quitting smoking if you follow the treatment with a doctor who can assess your individual characteristics, such as degree of dependence and history, and model the treatment accordingly.

Advantages and disadvantages of the nicotine patch

Any Nicotine Replacement Therapy has the advantage of only restoring nicotine, sparing the hitherto smoker of being in contact with other harmful substances of the tobacco (like the tar, for example), but reducing the crises of abstinence, since the nicotine is reduced gradually. There is no risk of the patient being addicted to the patch or any other method of this type of therapy.

But one of the disadvantages of chewing gum is that it only brings relief for a moment, like cigarettes.

Side effects

Side effects are very rare, and when they appear, they occur because there was no medical advice or because specialist's recommendations were not heard. It can cause nausea, irritation of the mucous membrane of the mouth (including ulcers) and over-intoxication. This last risk increases if the patient continues to smoke.

Contraindications

Nicotine Replacement Therapies contain much smaller amounts of it and the resources used do not carry the other harmful substances of the cigarette, such as tar. Therefore, they do not carry great risks, since nicotine is more responsible for the addiction itself than for the health problems caused by smoking.

Thus, there are not many contraindications for nicotine replacement therapies, such as nicotine gum, because continuing to smoke is always worse. Some experts claim that even people with heart disease and pregnant women can make use of these resources, even though there is no evidence that this type of treatment causes problems for the health of the fetus. However, new studies have shown the relationship between nicotine and the cancer. A study published in the scientific journal PLoS One in 2013 showed that the substance can alter the expression of the genes of the cells, making the appearance of the disease more likely. These findings may change the recommended measures for this type of therapy.

Nicotine Chewing Gum Treatments

Nicotine Adhesive

Most doctors point to chewing gum as an ally of the adhesive, to be chewed on moments of greater desire to smoke, despite the use of the other resource. Thus, the patient is able to better circumvent the withdrawal syndrome, which is more hostile to those who want to stop smoking.

Bupropion When the patient is very dependent on nicotine, the doctor also recommends a drug treatment using bupropion. The medicine also reduces the urge to smoke and can be taken for up to three, but can only be bought with prescription. Who can indicate nicotine gum

Nicotine gum is found in pharmacies and can be obtained without prescription. But prefer to use them with your doctor's guidance, which will help you choose the technique that is right for you, including combining more than one treatment, according to your history and degree of dependency.

Sources

Pulmonologist Luiz Carlos Correa da Silva (CRM-RS 4414), member of the Tobacco Commission of the Brazilian Society of Pulmonology and Tisiology (SBPT) and the advisory council of the Tobacco Control Alliance (ACTBr)

Psychologist Sabrina Presman, Brazilian Association for the Study of Alcohol and Other Drugs (ABEAD)

Book? Smoking: A disease that has treatment? (Editora ArtMed), organized by pulmonologist Luiz Carlos Côrrea da Silva


How to deal with self-criticism and self-deprecation?

How to deal with self-criticism and self-deprecation?

Self-criticism is something healthy, when dosed. It is fundamental to have a sense and common sense through the proper perception of ourselves. Having a critique of yourself is necessary to properly evaluate your actions, and thinking about the next steps is essential to improve, improve performance and therefore the outcome.

(Well-being)

Control anxiety by doing meditation

Control anxiety by doing meditation

But what is anxiety? Anxiety is a consequence of an imbalance in the functioning of the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems. The sympathetic nervous system acts in stress situations. Stress begins in the depths of the brain, where a structure called the hypothalamus alerts the adrenal glands, which respond by pouring into the bloodstream the hormones epinephrine and adrenaline for the classic fighting reaction or flight.

(Well-being)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

La gomme de nicotine: rencontrer les avantages et les inconvénients de ce traitement pour le sevrage tabagique

La gomme de nicotine: rencontrer les avantages et les inconvénients de ce traitement pour le sevrage tabagique

La gomme à la nicotine est l'une des méthodes dans la thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine (TRN), qui remet à zéro la substance responsable de la dépendance à la cigarette, à l'exclusion d'autres qui sont mauvais à la santé. Ainsi, il empêche les réactions de sevrage et la réduction progressive des doses de nicotine aide dans le processus de quitter.

Une telle méthode est la gomme de nicotine, ce qui a généralement 4 ou 2 mg gomme à la nicotine. Le patch de nicotine a généralement une plus grande adhésion que lui, mais tout de même, il est une méthode largement utilisée, en particulier pour des moments de fissure.

qui gomme à la nicotine est indiquée

La nicotine thérapie de remplacement, qui comprend la gomme de nicotine, il est généralement recommandé pour les patients qui ont une forte dépendance cigarette quand il y a des antécédents de syndrome de sevrage lorsqu'une personne est privée de fumer ou si elle était au-dessus de cinq sur test appelé le test de Fagerström. Mais tout doit être considéré au cas par cas.

Comment la gomme de nicotine

La gomme a la nicotine dentaire sa capsule, qui est libérée lors de la mastication, qui est absorbé directement par la muqueuse buccale ou le long de la digestion . La libération se produit progressivement.

Utilisation de la gomme à la nicotine

Contrairement à la gomme ordinaire, vous devez mâcher assez dur gomme à la nicotine au départ et quand vous commencez à sentir le goût de la nicotine, le mettre entre la gomme et le côté de la joue, laissant là jusqu'à ce que le goût disparaisse. Au bout de 30 minutes, vous pouvez maintenant jeter la gomme.

Placez le côté de la bouche est importante parce que la nicotine est absorbée mieux que dans le reste du système digestif, entraînant l'absorption de la nicotine équivalente moitié d'un cigarette En outre, lorsque la nicotine est absorbée dans l'estomac ou de l'intestin, une grande partie de celui-ci est métabolisé par le foie et n'atteindra pas le système nerveux central, agir là où le retrait apaisant.

Il est important de ne pas boire de l'eau lors de la mastication, car cela permet la nicotine est avalée. En outre, le tabagisme et en utilisant la gomme à mâcher en grandes quantités peut conduire à un excès d'empoisonnement de la nicotine dans le corps.

Les médecins indiquent généralement l'utilisation de ces systèmes de gomme à mâcher selon le degré de dépendance. Si la personne fume plus de 20 cigarettes par jour, le traitement durera 12 semaines, dans lequel:

  • Semaines 1 à 4 = gomme 4 mg toutes les 1 à 2 heures
  • Semaine 5 à 8 = 2 mg gomme . tous les 2 à 4h
  • semaine 9 à 12 = 2 mg gomme tous les 4 à 8h

Si le patient fume moins de 20 cigarettes par jour, le système est un peu différent:

  • semaine 1 à 4 = 2 mg de gomme tous les 1 à 2 h
  • semaine 5 à 8 = 2 mg de gomme tous les 2 à 4 heures
  • semaine 9 à 12 = 2 mg de gomme toutes les 4 à 8 heures.

résultats attendus

Normalement, la gomme de nicotine est plus efficace lorsqu'il est utilisé comme un allié de l'adhésif, car si celui-ci apporte petites et constantes quantités de nicotine tout au long de la journée, la gomme contrôlerait les moments de fissure. Par conséquent, il n'y a pas beaucoup d'études qui démontrent le succès de la gomme seule.

Cependant, vous pouvez obtenir plus de succès à cesser de fumer si vous faites le suivi du traitement d'un médecin, qui peut évaluer vos caractéristiques individuelles telles que le degré la dépendance et de l'histoire, et la forme du traitement en conséquence.

Avantages et inconvénients de patch de nicotine

Toute thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine a l'avantage du fait que la nicotine ne réapprovisionner, sauver le fumeur jusque-là étant en contact avec d'autres substances de tabac nuisibles (tels que le goudron, par exemple), mais la réduction des symptômes de sevrage, étant donné que la nicotine est réduite progressivement. Il n'y a aucun risque que le patient soit accro au patch ou à toute autre méthode de ce type de traitement.

Mais l'un des inconvénients de la gomme est qu'il apporte seulement un soulagement pour un moment, comme les cigarettes.

Effets secondaires

Il est des effets secondaires très rares se produisent, et quand ils apparaissent, il n'y avoir eu aucune médicale ou parce que les recommandations du spécialiste n'ont pas été entendues. Il peut causer des nausées, irritation de la muqueuse de la bouche (même causant des ulcères) et l'empoisonnement par l'utilisation excessive. Ce dernier risque augmente si le patient continue de fumer.

Contre-indications

Les thérapies de remplacement de la nicotine contiennent beaucoup plus petites et il représente les ressources utilisées ne se fait pas d'autres substances de cigarettes nocives comme le goudron, par exemple. , Ils ne donc pas apporter de grands risques, car la nicotine est plus responsable de la dépendance elle-même que par les problèmes de santé causés par le tabagisme.

Ainsi, il n'y a pas beaucoup de contre-indications à des thérapies de remplacement de la nicotine, tels que la gomme à la nicotine, car continuer à fumer est toujours pire. Certains experts affirment que même les personnes souffrant de maladies cardiaques et les femmes enceintes peuvent faire usage de ces ressources, parce qu'il n'y a aucune preuve que ce traitement pose des problèmes pour la santé du fœtus.

Mais de nouvelles études ont montré la relation entre la nicotine et le cancer. Une étude publiée dans la revue PLoS One, a montré en 2013 que la substance peut modifier l'expression des gènes des cellules, ce qui rend plus probable l'apparition de la maladie. Ces résultats pourraient modifier la recommandation de mesures pour ce type de thérapie.

Le traitement combiné avec la gomme de nicotine

nicotine Autocollant La plupart des médecins indique la gomme comme un allié de l'adhésif à mâcher sur moments de plus grand désir de fumer, malgré l'utilisation de l'autre ressource. Ainsi, le patient est mieux en mesure de contourner le syndrome de sevrage, plus l'ennemi qui veut arrêter de fumer.

bupropion Lorsque le patient est très dépendante de la nicotine, recommande également un traitement médicamenteux médical en utilisant bupropion. Le médicament réduit également le désir de fumer et peut être pris jusqu'à trois mêmes, mais ne peuvent être achetés sur ordonnance.

Qui peut indiquer la gomme de nicotine

gomme à la nicotine se trouvent dans les pharmacies et peuvent être obtenues sans prescription. Mais préfère les utiliser avec les conseils du médecin qui vous aidera à choisir la technique la plus appropriée pour vous, y compris la combinaison de plus d'un traitement, en fonction de son historique et le degré de dépendance.

Sources

Pneumologue Luiz Carlos Corrêa da Silva (CRM-RS 4414), commissaire de fumer la Société brésilienne de l'Association thoracique (BTA) et le conseil consultatif du tabac Control Alliance (ACTBr)

Psychologue Sabrina Presman, l'Association de fumer expert Enquête sur l'alcool et d'autres drogues Brésil (ABEAD)

livre de fumer: la maladie est traitable? (Editora ArtMed), organisé par le pneumologue Luiz Carlos Côrrea da Silva


Tension causée par le stress aggrave trames de psoriasis

Tension causée par le stress aggrave trames de psoriasis

La manifestation physique peut être aggravée par le stress et son déclenchement peut en être déclenché. Les facteurs émotionnels agissent fortement chez ceux qui ont déjà une prédisposition génétique à la maladie. Apprenez comment fonctionne le stress dans le psoriasis - Photo: Getty Images Sans distinction de sexe, le psoriasis affecte principalement les personnes dans les années 20.

(Bien-être)

La thérapie aux pierres chaudes apporte la relaxation et rend la peau belle

La thérapie aux pierres chaudes apporte la relaxation et rend la peau belle

Thérapie aux pierres chaudes (qui peuvent être volcanique, sédimentaire ou intrusive) se joint à la thermothérapie et à des manœuvres spécifiques massothérapie (friction, diapositives) utilisant des tailles et des formes de pierres selon avec les sites d'application. La technique est très intéressante à appliquer par temps froid ou à température agréable.

(Bien-être)