en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Older children may be smarter, study says

Older children may be smarter, study says

A study by the University of Edinburgh has indicated that older children have a greater capacity for thinking than younger ones, because parents encourage more first-born children in their early years of life.

To better understand the case, the researchers observed 5,000 children from birth to the age of 14. The children were evaluated every two years by performing reading recognition and imaging tests, as well as collecting information on economic and family environment conditions. The results of the study, published in The Journal of Human Resources, indicated that in the first year of life, the first-born had a higher score than their siblings on IQ tests. In addition, parents participated in fewer brain stimulation activities with their younger children, such as reading with them, playing instruments, and making crafts.

According to the researchers, although all parents believe they have given the same emotional support to all children, the truth is that older children receive a greater parental support, especially in tasks involving thinking skills.

For the researchers, parents change their behavior after the birth of other children, stimulating and participating less in activities with the youngest children. This may be the explanation for older children having better education and earnings when they reach adulthood. "Our findings suggest that major changes in parental behavior are plausible explanations for birth order differences observed in results of education and the labor market, "said Ana Nuevo-Chiquero, an economist at the University of Edinburgh.


Diabetes in pregnancy increases risk of birth defects in children

Diabetes in pregnancy increases risk of birth defects in children

Diabetologia , calls attention to the importance of controlling blood sugar levels before conception and performing prenatal care. Both type 1 diabetes, which usually appears in childhood, and type 2 diabetes, usually linked to diet, lead to problems controlling the amount of sugar in the blood. For a safe gestation, it is recommended that glycated hemoglobin levels (which examines average blood glucose levels in the last few months) should be below 6.

(Family)

Smoking in pregnancy favors asthma in infants, says study

Smoking in pregnancy favors asthma in infants, says study

Children whose mothers smoked during pregnancy may have more difficulty in controlling asthma than other children with the problem, a new study published in the Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology suggests. The discovery aims to motivate pregnant or future mothers to quit smoking as soon as possible to preserve their child's health.

(Family)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Les enfants plus âgés peuvent être plus intelligents, selon une étude

Les enfants plus âgés peuvent être plus intelligents, selon une étude

Une étude de l'Université d'Edimbourg a indiqué que les enfants plus âgés ont une plus grande capacité de penser que les plus jeunes, parce que les parents encouragent plus de premiers-nés

Pour mieux comprendre le cas, les chercheurs ont observé 5 000 enfants de la naissance à 14 ans. Les enfants ont été évalués tous les deux ans en effectuant des tests de reconnaissance de lecture et d'imagerie, ainsi qu'en recueillant des informations sur les conditions économiques et familiales de l'environnement.Les résultats de l'étude, publiée dans The Journal of Human Resources, ont indiqué qu'au cours de la première année de vie, les premiers-nés avaient un score plus élevé que leurs frères et sœurs aux tests de QI. En outre, les parents ont participé à moins d'activités de stimulation cérébrale avec leurs plus jeunes enfants, comme lire avec eux, jouer des instruments et fabriquer de l'artisanat.

Selon les chercheurs, tous les parents croient avoir apporté le même soutien émotionnel à tous enfants, la vérité est que les enfants plus âgés reçoivent un plus grand soutien parental, en particulier dans les tâches impliquant des compétences de réflexion.

Pour les chercheurs, les parents changent leur comportement après la naissance d'autres enfants, stimulant et participant moins activités avec les plus jeunes enfants. C'est peut-être l'explication pour les enfants plus âgés qui ont une meilleure éducation et des revenus plus élevés quand ils atteignent l'âge adulte. "Nos résultats suggèrent que des changements majeurs dans le comportement parental sont des explications plausibles pour les différences de naissance observées dans Les résultats de l'éducation et du marché du travail ", a déclaré Ana Nuevo-Chiquero, économiste à l'Université d'Edimbourg.


Le petit sommeil accroît les risques de trouble déficitaire de l'attention chez les enfants

Le petit sommeil accroît les risques de trouble déficitaire de l'attention chez les enfants

Peu de temps de sommeil dans la petite enfance peut contribuer au développement ou à l'aggravation de l'hyperactivité et de l'inattention. Les résultats de l'étude seront présentés lors de la réunion du 25e anniversaire des associations professionnelles du sommeil à Minneapolis. L'analyse a porté sur environ 6 860 enfants.

(Famille)

Quel est le cycle d'échange des dents de l'enfant

Quel est le cycle d'échange des dents de l'enfant

Le moment de l'échange dentaire est toujours une période de grande anxiété pour les parents et les enfants et il est important que certains détails soient clarifiés afin que tout le monde puisse passer par cette phase de transition. Ces événements commencent à se produire entre cinq et sept ans et peuvent varier d'un enfant à l'autre.

(Famille)