en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Only 10 to 20% of adverse drug reactions are considered allergic

Only 10 to 20% of adverse drug reactions are considered allergic

Adverse reaction to the drug according to ANVISA is any harmful, unintended and undesired effect of a drug, observed at the usual therapeutic doses in humans for therapeutic, prophylactic or diagnostic purposes .

Adverse drug reactions are divided into two types.

Predictable reactions

Can occur in any individual and are related to the pharmacological action of the drug, usually dose-dependent. They account for approximately 75% of adverse drug reactions. There are four varieties of this type of reaction:

1) Toxicity: effects are related to the amount of drug in the body, happen when the limit is exceeded. As an example, we have central nervous system depression with barbiturates, hepatic injury by the use of acetaminophen.

2) Secondary or indirect effect: it is an indirectly related effect to the pharmacological action of the drug. For example, administration of an antibiotic stimulates the production of a toxin that causes membranous colitis.

3) Collateral effect: undesirable effect even at commonly used doses. How to feel drowsy with antihistamines.

4) Drug Interaction: Medications administered simultaneously may interact by increasing or decreasing an expected response or by determining an unexpected response. Phenytoin may increase in serum if given along with fluoxetine or sulfonamide.

Unprovoked reactions

Occur in susceptible patients (due to their own characteristics) not related to the pharmacological action of the drug, but with individual response, deficiencies genetic or immunological response, usually independent doses. There are also four varieties of this type of reaction:

1) Drug intolerance: this is a diminished threshold for the pharmacological action of a drug in susceptible individuals. For a single dose of medication, an individual with an intolerance to this substance will respond with a more obvious undesirable effect than most individuals exposed to it, such as acetylsalicylic acid hypothermia in children.

2) Idiosyncratic reaction: abnormal reaction to the drug by inhibition of an enzymatic activity, without immunological mechanism involved. It may occur in patients who, when they ingest primaquina, develop hemolytic anemia (a genetic deficiency related to the metabolism of the drug that manifests itself when exposed to the drug).

3) Hypersensitivity reaction or allergy: a reaction to drugs resulting from response to the immunological mechanism, ie when specific circulating antibodies (IgE, IgM and IgG) or specific sensitized lymphocytes are involved. This reaction has no relation to the amount of drug administered. They correspond to 10 to 20% of adverse drug reactions. An allergic reaction usually does not happen at the first exposure of the medicine because a previous sensitization period is required. Re-exposure to the drug will result in a new reaction generally faster than the previous one. As an example, we have urticaria caused by penicillins.

4) Anaphylactoid or pseudoalergic reaction: it is a reaction that does not involve specific antibody or sensitized T lymphocytes. It occurs the release of mediators directly from mast cells or basophils and or activation of a system called complement. The clinical manifestations are similar to an allergic reaction. An example is urticaria related to acetylsalicylic acid.

Allergies

Most drugs that cause adverse reactions are not due to immunological mechanisms, ie it is not an allergic reaction. However, when they do occur, there are some specific classifications.

1) Immediate type I reaction: IgE antibody involvement, resulting in a clinical picture with rhinitis, asthma, urticaria, angioedema (edema of the deep dermis reaching the eyelids and lips) and anaphylaxis (in which the patient may present itchy skin, redness , sensation of fainting, shortness of breath, wheezing in the chest, pressure drop, shock, nausea, vomiting and diarrhea, urticaria and angioedema Progressive airway obstruction and circulatory collapse can lead to coma and death.)

2 ) Type II reaction: direct action of the IgM or IgG antibody on the tissue or organ, with activation of the complement system. It can reach skin, lung, liver, muscles, peripheral nerves and blood cells. It can cause hemolytic anemia, platelet count and interstitial nephritis. <3> 3) Type III reaction: It involves the formation of an antigen-antibody complex that causes tissue damage with activation of the complement system. The clinical picture involves fever, urticaria, presence of lymph nodes, inflammation of the joints, vasculitis and renal involvement.

4) Type IV reaction: which is mediated by T lymphocytes sensitized with lymphokine production, such as contact dermatitis.

Allergic reactions may be immediate (30 minutes to 2 hours after drug administration), accelerated (2 to 48 hours after drug administration) and late (48 hours after drug administration).

Adverse reaction is acquired. It is possible never to have been allergic to a drug and suddenly to become. Atopic patients (with asthma, rhinitis and / or atopic dermatitis) may present more severe IgE-mediated reactions. The route of parenteral administration, i.e. by serum or topical application, causes more complex reactions. The incidence of allergic reaction to the drug is greater when given intermittently. Continuous use is associated with a lower incidence of allergic sensitization.

Sometimes the drugs have similar chemical structures and for this reason we say that they cross-react, that is, they can cause the same effects. This explains why it may be necessary to suspend a group of medications. The incidence of allergic skin reactions is 35% more frequent in women. The drugs that cause the most adverse reactions are antibiotics and non-hormonal anti-inflammatories.

Diagnosis of allergy to a drug

Tests for drug allergy do not show efficacy and specificity for all drugs. Most drug reactions are not mediated IgE-dependent, so they do not respond to an allergy test. Many immune reactions are caused by metabolites and not by the main drug. The most commonly used tests are:

immediate hypersensitivity skin test

challenge test

  • contact test
  • detection of specific IgE, IgM, IgG antibodies
  • Many of these tests are not performed in the office because they require monitoring in a hospital environment. What is best characterized by the diagnosis is the meticulous clinical history. The tests are reserved for the patient who can not replace the drug.
  • Treatment

The most important measure is the withdrawal of the suspect drug. As there is often a cross reaction with other drugs, it is necessary to avoid the whole group. The specialist physician should direct the substitution with a similar drug.

There is a treatment carried out at Hospital Escola called desensitization, which consists of, through well-defined protocols, inducing drug tolerance. The specific pharmacological treatment of adverse reactions includes administration of corticosteroids, antihistamines and adrenaline, in addition to all support in case of anaphylaxis (oxygen and ICU structure).


Enzyme discovery that nullifies the harmful effects of excess sugar

Enzyme discovery that nullifies the harmful effects of excess sugar

Sugar is so good, too bad that it hurts! It is very difficult to combine flavor and health when it comes to refined carbohydrates, nutrients directly linked to metabolic health problems such as type 2 diabetes, obesity and metabolic syndrome. However, scientists at the University of Montreal (Canada) research center have found an enzyme that may be the solution to these problems.

(Health)

10 Attitudes That Help Fight Public Health Problems

10 Attitudes That Help Fight Public Health Problems

Often, when we think of diseases in a region, we forget the role of each individual when it comes to fighting them. If the issue is a public health problem in our community, every correct attitude is worth a lot. " " A good deal of disease can be avoided or at least be at risk of being reduced by individual measures, "says the Rodrigo Lima, director of the Brazilian Society of Family and Community Medicine The epidemiologist Eduardo Hage, director of the Department of Surveillance of Transmissible Diseases (DEVIT) of the Ministry of Health, citizen participation is essential.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Seulement 10-20% des effets indésirables des médicaments sont considérés comme allergiques

Seulement 10-20% des effets indésirables des médicaments sont considérés comme allergiques

Réaction indésirable à un médicament selon ANVISA est tout effet nocif, non désirée et indésirable d'un médicament, observée à des doses thérapeutiques habituelles chez l'homme à des fins thérapeutiques, prophylactiques ou de diagnostic .

réactions indésirables aux médicaments sont divisés en deux types.

réactions prévisibles

peuvent se produire chez un individu et sont liées à l'action pharmacologique du médicament, dose-dépendante en général. Ils représentent environ 75% des réactions indésirables aux médicaments. Il existe quatre variétés de ce type de réaction:

1) Toxicité: les effets sont liés à la quantité de médicament dans le corps, se produisent lorsque la limite est dépassée. À titre d'exemple, la dépression du distema nerveux central avec des barbituriques, des lésions hépatiques lors de l'utilisation de l'acétaminophène

2) l'effet secondaire ou indirecte :. est un effet lié indirectement à l'action pharmacologique du médicament. Par exemple, l'administration d'un antibiotique stimule la production d'une toxine qui provoque la colite membraneuse

3) Effet Side :. Effet indésirable même à des doses habituellement utilisées. Comment se sentir somnolent anti-histaminiques

4) Interactions médicamenteuses :. Les médicaments administrés peuvent interagir augmenter ou diminuer en même temps une réponse attendue ou la détermination d'une réponse inattendue. Comme la phénytoïne peut augmenter le sérum est administré avec fluoxetine ou sulfonamide.

réactions imprévisibles

se produisent chez les patients sensibles (en raison des caractéristiques de ceux-ci) ne sont pas liées à l'action pharmacologique du médicament, mais à la réponse individuelle, les carences réponse génétique ou immunologique, généralement des doses indépendantes. Il existe également quatre variétés de ce type de réaction:

1) Intolérance médicamenteuse: il s'agit d'un seuil réduit pour l'action pharmacologique d'un médicament chez les individus sensibles. Pour la même dose de médicament, une personne avec l'intolérance à cette substance répond par une action plus clairement indésirable que la plupart des personnes qui y sont exposés, tels que l'aspirine de l'hypothermie chez les enfants

2) réaction idiosyncrasique :. Est-ce un réaction anormale au médicament par inhibition d'une activité enzymatique, sans mécanisme immunologique impliqué. Il peut arriver aux patients que lorsqu'ils ingèrent primaquine développer une anémie hémolytique (une déficience génétique liée au métabolisme des médicaments qui se manifeste lors de l'exposition au médicament)

3) réaction d'hypersensibilité ou d'une allergie :. Est-ce une réaction la réponse aux médicaments résultant au mécanisme immunologique, c'est-à-dire lorsque des anticorps circulants spécifiques (IgE, IgM et IgG) ou des lymphocytes sensibilisés spécifiques sont impliqués. Cette réaction n'a aucun rapport avec la quantité de médicament administrée. Ils correspondent à 10 à 20% des effets indésirables. Une réaction allergique ne se produit généralement pas à la première exposition du médicament, car une période de sensibilisation préalable est nécessaire. La réexposition au médicament entraînera une nouvelle réaction généralement plus rapide que la précédente. Les exemples sont pénicillines urticaires induites

4) réaction anaphylactoïde ou :. pseudo-allergique est une réaction qui ne comporte pas d'anticorps spécifique ou lymphocytes T sensibilisés. Il se produit la libération de médiateurs directement à partir des mastocytes ou des basophiles et ou l'activation d'un système appelé complément. Les manifestations cliniques sont similaires à une réaction allergique. Un exemple est lié à l'urticaire acide acétylsalicylique.

Types d'allergies

La plupart des médicaments qui provoquent des réactions indésirables, il n'est pas des mécanismes immunitaires, qui est, ce n'est pas une réaction allergique. Cependant, quand ils se produisent, il y a des classifications spécifiques.

1) Type de réaction immédiate I: a la participation d'anticorps IgE, résultant dans un cadre clinique avec la rhinite, l'asthme, l'urticaire, angio-oedème (gonflement du derme profond atteignant les paupières et les lèvres) et anaphylaxie (où le patient peut éprouver des démangeaisons cutanées, rougeurs , évanouissement, essoufflement, respiration sifflante, chute de pression, de choc, des nausées, des vomissements et la diarrhée, l'urticaire et angio-œdème. l'obstruction progressive des voies aériennes et un collapsus circulatoire peut entraîner le coma et la mort).

2 ) Réaction de type II: action directe de l'anticorps IgM ou IgG sur le tissu ou l'organe, avec activation du système du complément. Il peut atteindre la peau, les poumons, le foie, les muscles, les nerfs périphériques et les cellules sanguines. Peut provoquer une anémie hémolytique, une diminution des plaquettes et la néphrite interstitielle

3) du type à réaction III. Cela implique la formation d'un complexe antigène-anticorps qui provoque des lésions tissulaires dans l'activation du système du complément. Le tableau clinique implique la fièvre, une éruption cutanée, de la présence de noeuds, l'inflammation des articulations, la vascularite et l'atteinte rénale

4) Type de réaction IV. Qui est médiée par les lymphocytes T sensibilisés à produire des lymphokines telles que la dermatite de contact .

réactions allergiques peuvent être immédiats (30 minutes à 2 heures après l'administration du médicament), accélérée (2 à 48 heures après l'administration du médicament) et retardée (48 heures après l'administration du médicament.)

la réaction indésirable est acquis. Il est possible de ne jamais avoir été allergique à un médicament et de le devenir soudainement. Les patients atopiques (atteints d'asthme, de rhinite et / ou de dermatite atopique) peuvent présenter des réactions à médiation IgE plus sévères. La voie d'administration parenterale, c'est-à-dire par le sérum ou l'application topique, provoque des réactions plus complexes. L'incidence de la réaction allergique au médicament est plus grande lorsqu'il est administré par intermittence. L'utilisation continue est associée à une incidence plus faible de la sensibilisation allergique.

Parfois, les médicaments ont des structures chimiques similaires et pour cette raison nous disons que des réactions croisées, ou peut provoquer les mêmes effets. Ceci explique pourquoi il peut être nécessaire de suspendre un groupe de médicaments. L'incidence des réactions cutanées allergiques est 35% plus fréquente chez les femmes. Les médicaments qui provoquent des réactions plus défavorables sont des antibiotiques et non-stéroïdiens anti-inflammatoires.

diagnostic d'allergie à un médicament

Les tests de détection d'allergie médicamenteuse ne montrent pas l'efficacité et la spécificité pour tous les médicaments. La plupart des réactions médicamenteuses ne sont pas dépendantes des IgE, elles ne répondent donc pas à un test d'allergie.De nombreuses réactions immunitaires sont causées par des métabolites et non par le médicament principal. Ces métabolites sont difficiles à identifier

Les tests les plus couramment utilisés sont les suivants: ..

  • SPT hypersensibilité immédiate
  • test de provocation
  • Test de contact
  • Détection des IgE, IgM, IgG spécifiques à

Beaucoup de ces tests ne sont pas effectués au cabinet car ils nécessitent une surveillance en milieu hospitalier. Ce qui caractérise le mieux le diagnostic est l'histoire clinique méticuleuse. Les tests sont réservés au patient qui ne peut pas remplacer le médicament

Traitement

La mesure la plus importante est le retrait du médicament suspecté. Comme il y a souvent une réaction croisée avec d'autres médicaments, il est nécessaire d'éviter tout le groupe. L'expert médical devrait substitution directe pour un médicament similaire.

Il y a un traitement effectué à l'hôpital universitaire appelé désensibilisation, consistant en par des protocoles bien établis, induisant une tolérance du médicament. Le traitement pharmacologique spécifique des effets indésirables comprend l'administration de corticostéroïdes, de l'épinéphrine et des antihistaminiques, plus tout soutien en cas de réaction anaphylactique (oxygène de soins intensifs et de la structure).


Infection intestinale: le traitement comprend une alimentation spéciale et un apport en liquides

Infection intestinale: le traitement comprend une alimentation spéciale et un apport en liquides

Le terme infection intestinale est traduit en médecine comme une maladie appelée gastro-entérite aiguë. La gastroentérite peut être causée par des virus ou des bactéries. La diarrhée est le symptôme le plus important, et provoque encore beaucoup de décès dans le monde, en particulier chez les enfants.

(Santé)

Comment la vaccination chez les patients atteints de la maladie de Crohn et d'autres MII?

Comment la vaccination chez les patients atteints de la maladie de Crohn et d'autres MII?

La maladie de Crohn et la colite ulcéreuse sont les maladies inflammatoires de l'intestin (MII), où il y a une réponse inflammatoire chronique dont la cause principale est due à une déréglementation du système immunitaire. Donc, de plus en plus fait usage de médicaments qui agissent dans immunosuppression, tels que les corticostéroïdes, azathioprine, méthotrexate et de la thérapie biologique -.

(Santé)