en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Oral health may be linked to risk of dementia

Oral health may be linked to risk of dementia

When it comes to preserving mental health, small day-to-day details can make all the difference. Proof of this is a study published in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society . According to the survey, conducted by a specialist at the University of California, California, , people who maintain healthy teeth and gums have a lower risk of developing dementia throughout their lives. more than 5,400 elderly people were followed for 18 years. They were all part of a California retirement community and were between the ages of 52 and 105. None of them had any traces of dementia at the start of the study. Throughout the analysis, they answered questionnaires about the oral care they took, the condition of their teeth and whether they used dentures. At the end of the study, 1,145 elderly people had been diagnosed with dementia. They then discovered that it is not just an individual's mental state that may help predict their oral care, but their oral health may also influence the risk of losing cognitive ability. Thus, participants who reported brushing their teeth less than once a day were 65% more likely to develop dementia than those who performed daily hygiene.

Experts suspect that bacteria typical of gum disease can migrate to the brain, causing inflammation in the organ. Thus, the damages caused would anticipate the emergence of mental problems. However, the researchers say that it is not possible to say that oral problems are the cause of dementia.

Know other risk factors for dementia

Another study by researchers from the

San Francisco VA Medical Center

in the United States, was able to map the six main dementia risk factors: sedentary lifestyle, alcohol use, depression, smoking, diabetes, middle-aged hypertension and obesity. Understand how they can affect brain-vascular health. 1. Metabolic Syndrome The metabolic syndrome elevates the incidence of stroke and increases oxidative stress. It is the association of diseases such as obesity, hypertension, hyperglycemia, increased triglycerides and decreased good cholesterol (HDL). Together, they can increase memory loss by up to 40%.

2. Hypertension

The intensity with which the blood circulates in the hypertensive ends up causing lesions in the vessels, including those of the brain. This causes oxygenation and nutrient distribution to be impaired and may affect mental health.

3. Smoking

Smoking accelerates the neurological aging process and can cause brain atrophy, increasing the risk of Alzheimer's. The toxins present in the cigarette are also responsible for the death of neurons, which accelerates cognitive degeneration.

4. Alcohol

The consumption of more than two daily doses of alcohol increases the risk of neurological disorders by almost 10%. In the case of the chronic alcoholic, then, there is loss of brain tissue, causing the brain to shrink. This worsens problems of forgetting and recent memory loss.


5 Benefits of Rosehip Oil

5 Benefits of Rosehip Oil

Originally from the East, brought to Europe and finally brought to South America at the time of colonization, the rose hip is called by other names - rose canine, wild rose or the scientific Pink rubiginosa affinis - but is always recognized and sought after due to its cosmetic and medicinal properties.

(Health)

Here are some suggestions from the American Dental Association

Here are some suggestions from the American Dental Association

What should you look for when choosing a dentist? You may want to call or consult more than one dentist before making your decision. Dental treatment is a very personalized service that requires a good relationship between the dentist and the patient. During your first visit, you should be able to determine if this is the right dentist for you.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

La santé bucco-dentaire peut être liée au risque de démence

La santé bucco-dentaire peut être liée au risque de démence

Lorsqu'il s'agit de préserver la santé mentale, de petits détails au jour le jour peuvent faire toute la différence. Preuve de ceci est une étude publiée dans le Journal de l'American Geriatrics Society . Selon l'enquête, menée par un spécialiste de l'Université de Californie, en Californie, , les personnes qui maintiennent des dents et des gencives saines ont un risque plus faible de développer une démence tout au long de leur vie. plus de 5 400 personnes âgées ont été suivies pendant 18 ans. Ils faisaient tous partie d'une communauté de retraités en Californie et avaient entre 52 et 105 ans. Aucun d'entre eux n'avait de traces de démence au début de l'étude. Tout au long de l'analyse, ils ont répondu à des questionnaires sur les soins bucco-dentaires qu'ils prenaient, l'état de leurs dents et s'ils utilisaient des prothèses dentaires. À la fin de l'étude, 1 145 personnes âgées avaient reçu un diagnostic de démence. Ils ont alors découvert que ce n'est pas seulement l'état mental d'un individu qui peut aider à prédire leurs soins buccaux, mais leur santé buccale peut aussi influencer le risque de perdre la capacité cognitive. Ainsi, les participants ayant déclaré se brosser les dents moins d'une fois par jour étaient 65% plus susceptibles de développer une démence que ceux qui pratiquaient l'hygiène quotidienne.

Les experts soupçonnent que les bactéries typiques de la maladie des gencives peuvent migrer le cerveau, provoquant une inflammation dans l'organe. Ainsi, les dommages causés anticiperaient l'émergence de problèmes mentaux. Cependant, les chercheurs disent qu'il n'est pas possible de dire que les problèmes oraux sont la cause de la démence.

Connaître d'autres facteurs de risque de démence

Une autre étude par les chercheurs du

San Francisco VA Medical Center

aux États-Unis, a permis de cartographier les six principaux facteurs de risque de démence: mode de vie sédentaire, consommation d'alcool, dépression, tabagisme, diabète, hypertension artérielle d'âge moyen et obésité. Comprendre comment ils peuvent affecter la santé cérébro-vasculaire. 1. Syndrome métabolique Le syndrome métabolique augmente l'incidence des accidents vasculaires cérébraux et augmente le stress oxydatif. C'est l'association de maladies telles que l'obésité, l'hypertension, l'hyperglycémie, l'augmentation des triglycérides et la diminution du bon cholestérol (HDL). Ensemble, ils peuvent augmenter la perte de mémoire jusqu'à 40%.

2. Hypertension

L'intensité avec laquelle le sang circule dans l'hypertension finit par provoquer des lésions dans les vaisseaux, y compris ceux du cerveau. Cela entraîne une altération de l'oxygénation et de la distribution des nutriments et peut affecter la santé mentale.

3. Fumer

Fumer accélère le processus de vieillissement neurologique et peut provoquer une atrophie cérébrale, augmentant ainsi le risque d'Alzheimer. Les toxines présentes dans la cigarette sont également responsables de la mort des neurones, ce qui accélère la dégénérescence cognitive.

4. Alcool

La consommation de plus de deux doses quotidiennes d'alcool augmente le risque de troubles neurologiques de près de 10%. Dans le cas de l'alcoolique chronique, il y a alors une perte de tissu cérébral, ce qui provoque une rétraction du cerveau. Cela aggrave les problèmes d'oubli et de perte de mémoire récente.


7 Faits vous ne saviez pas à propos de l'automédication

7 Faits vous ne saviez pas à propos de l'automédication

Dans la lutte contre le mal et les maladies mineures, qui sont souvent récurrentes et qui ont peut-être déjà reçu des conseils médicaux ou pharmaceutiques sur la façon de les traiter, les PMI sont les principaux alliés de la population. nous parlons ici de la lutte contre les maux de tête, le rhume et l'indigestion, par exemple En plus de faciliter la vie au moment de résoudre un tel problème, l'utilisation mips (connu dans le monde entier comme OTC -.

(Santé)

Pourquoi le visage laid avec leur jus d'orange le matin?

Pourquoi le visage laid avec leur jus d'orange le matin?

Des scientifiques de l'American Chemical Society a récemment publié un nouvel épisode des vidéos primées bytesize science, précise le désordre commun pour le petit déjeuner - le mauvais goût du jus d'orange après le brossage des dents « , dit le site Web de l'ACS les composants du dentifrice comprennent une variété d'ingrédients qui confèrent la saveur, le corps, la texture et logiquement puissance de nettoyage.

(Santé)