en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Oral mucositis may influence the treatment of cancer patients

Oral mucositis may influence the treatment of cancer patients

The therapies used in cancer treatment, such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy, have the purpose of destroying malignant cells. However, they do not attack only the cells that form the tumor and also reach the healthy tissues. This systemic action causes different side effects to the patient, such as hair loss, decreased immunity and the appearance of mucosal wounds, which when they appear in the mouth are called oral mucositis.

The picture is an inflammatory process that occurs in whole gastro intestinal mucosa. When there is the association of chemotherapy with radiotherapy in the head and neck region, oral mucositis is more frequent and more intense. The main signs of oral mucositis are erythema (redness), edema (swelling) and the presence of wounds that compromise the patient's speech, eating and well-being.

Influence on treatment

If untreated correctly, oral mucositis can progress to severe and painful ulcers (wounds) that prevent proper nutrition and hydration. Nutrition impairment has a negative impact on the general condition of the individual and often requires hospitalization.

In some types of cancer, such as leukemias, the drugs used decrease the production of platelets and leukocytes by exposing the patient to bleeding and reducing immunity. The presence of sores in the mouth allows microorganisms to enter the systemic circulation and, due to low immunity, there is a high risk of developing bacteremia and septicemia.

Intense oral mucositis is a limiting dose of chemotherapy and radiotherapy, and there is often a need to stop or decrease the doses of these therapies, which may compromise the treatment of cancer.

Prevention

Prior to initiation of cancer treatment, the patient should be evaluated by the dental surgeon to check for outbreaks of periodontal infection ( in the gingiva), periapical (related to the canal), cavities and possible causes of mucosal traumas such as tooth cusps, orthodontic appliances and maladaptive prostheses.

The guidance of special oral hygiene care for this stage of cancer treatment must be rigorously performed by the patient. The use of very soft toothbrushes and the appropriate technique, the use of specific mouthwashes and mucous moisturizers are very important and can make a difference in the patient's well-being. In addition, patients can rely on laser therapy, a technology that acts in the prevention and treatment of oral mucositis.

Laser therapy

All cells of our body produce energy for their survival from the process of cellular respiration. When the cell is under stress, this process becomes unbalanced and there is insufficient energy production to maintain cellular vitality. With cell death, there is the release of large amount of free radicals. These radicals can cause damage to other cells and thus, a cascade of events occurs that destroy the biological tissues.

Laser therapy uses the low power laser to promote the rebalancing of the cellular respiration process, and as a result, occurs the normalization of energy production and the reduction of free radical release. This energy is optimally produced and is used to maintain cellular vitality and promote repair of the affected tissue.

In oral mucositis, laser therapy produces a rapid analgesic effect (decrease in pain) and accelerates the healing process even in immunosuppressed patients

Laser therapy is completely painless, non-invasive and the very important point is that it presents low risks of side effects. In addition, it is a well-accepted therapy for patients, both adults and children.

The use of laser therapy to prevent and treat oral mucositis is standard practice in several bone marrow transplant centers in Brazil and worldwide. The International Agency for the Advancement of Cancer (MASCC / ISOO), an international body that publishes guidelines on cancer patient care, recommends the use of the low intensity laser for cases of marrow transplantation and also suggests this therapy when radiotherapy is in the head and neck region.

Consult your dentist and learn more about associating specific oral care with laser therapy. This is undoubtedly a great combination for combating oral mucositis in patients undergoing oncologic treatment.


Love Joaquim: campaign seeks to raise $ 3 million for baby treatment

Love Joaquim: campaign seeks to raise $ 3 million for baby treatment

With only two months of life, Joaquim was diagnosed with Type 1 Spinal Muscular Atrophy, a rare, degenerative condition that damages all the muscles of his body and with a life expectancy of up to two years. Today, at seven months, the baby can only move his eyes and have difficulty breathing and swallowing.

(Health)

Breast cancer recurrence: what are the chances of it happening and how to deal?

Breast cancer recurrence: what are the chances of it happening and how to deal?

Breast cancer recurrence is closely related to tumor biology. As previously written, breast cancers are different in type and biological behavior with different degrees of aggressiveness. In addition to the tumor biological factors, the type of surgical approach (whether obtained whether or not there were compromised ganglia if the patient received radiotherapy, chemotherapy or hormone therapy according to the need of the case if the patient adhered to the treatment, or if there was abandonment midway.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

La mucite buccale peut influer sur le traitement des patients atteints de cancer

La mucite buccale peut influer sur le traitement des patients atteints de cancer

thérapies utilisées dans le traitement du cancer comme la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie sont conçus pour détruire les cellules malignes. Cependant, ils n'attaquent pas seulement les cellules qui forment la tumeur et atteignent aussi les tissus sains. Cette action systémique apporte des effets secondaires pour le patient, comme la perte de cheveux, diminution de l'immunité et l'apparition des plaies sur les muqueuses, qui quand ils se présentent dans la bouche que l'on appelle la mucite orale.

L'image est un processus inflammatoire qui se produit dans muqueuse gastro-intestinale entière. Lorsqu'il y a association de chimiothérapie et de radiothérapie dans la région de la tête et du cou, la mucite buccale est plus fréquente et plus intense. Les principaux signes de la mucite buccale sont érythème (rougeur), œdème (gonflement) et la présence de blessures qui nuisent à la parole, manger et le bien-être des patients.

Traitement d'influence

Non traitée correctement, la mucite orale peut évoluer vers des ulcères (plaies) sévères et douloureux qui empêchent une bonne nutrition et hydratation. La perte de valeur nutritionnelle a un impact négatif sur l'état général de l'individu et nécessite souvent l'hospitalisation du patient.

Dans certains cancers, tels que les leucémies, les employés médicaments réduisent la production de plaquettes et leucocytes exposant le patient à saignement et réduction de l'immunité. La présence de plaies dans la bouche permet l'entrée des micro-organismes dans la circulation systémique, et en raison de l'immunité est faible, il y a un risque élevé de développer une bactériémie et de septicémie.

mucite orale sévère sont dose limitant la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie, et souvent il est nécessaire d'interrompre ou de réduire les doses de ces thérapies, ce qui peut compromettre le traitement du cancer.

prévention

Avant de commencer le traitement des patients en oncologie devrait être évalué par un dentiste pour vérifier la présence de foyers d'infection parodontale ( gomme), apicale (liée au canal), la pourriture et cause possible traumatisme à la muqueuse comme cuspides des dents, des accolades et des prothèses dentaires mal de montage.

soins d'orientation à l'hygiène bucco-dentaire spéciale pour cette phase de traitement du cancer doit être rigoureusement réalisée par le patient. L'utilisation de brosses à dents très doux et avec la bonne technique, l'utilisation de rince-bouche spécifiques et l'hydratation de la muqueuse sont très importants et peut faire une différence dans le bien-être du patient.

En outre, les patients peuvent compter sur la thérapie au laser, un la technologie qui fonctionne dans la prévention et le traitement de la mucite orale.

Laser Therapy

Toutes les cellules de notre corps à produire de l'énergie pour leur survie du processus de la respiration cellulaire. Lorsque la cellule subit un stress, ce processus devient déséquilibré et la production d'énergie est insuffisante pour maintenir la vitalité cellulaire. Avec la mort cellulaire, il y a la libération d'une grande quantité de radicaux libres. Ces radicaux peuvent causer des dommages à d'autres cellules et donc, il y a une cascade d'événements qui aboutissent à la destruction des tissus biologiques.

La thérapie au laser utilise le laser de faible puissance pour promouvoir le rééquilibrage du processus de la respiration cellulaire, et par conséquent, se produit la normalisation de la production d'énergie et la réduction de la libération de radicaux libres. Cette énergie est produite de façon optimale et est utilisé pour maintenir la vitalité cellulaire et favoriser la réparation des tissus endommagés.

Dans la mucite orale, la thérapie au laser produit un effet analgésique rapide (réduction de la douleur) et accélère le processus de guérison même patients immunodéprimés

La thérapie au laser est complètement indolore, non invasive et le point très important est qu'elle présente de faibles risques d'effets secondaires. En outre, il s'agit d'une thérapie bien acceptée pour les patients, adultes et enfants.

L'utilisation de la thérapie au laser pour prévenir et traiter la mucite buccale est une pratique courante dans plusieurs centres de transplantation de moelle osseuse au Brésil et dans le monde entier. Le Association multinationale des soins de soutien dans le cancer et la Société internationale d'oncologie orale (MASCC / Isoo), une organisation internationale qui publie des lignes directrices sur la prise en charge des patients atteints de cancer, recommande l'utilisation du laser à faible intensité pour les cas transplantation de moelle osseuse et suggère également cette thérapie lorsque la radiothérapie est dans la tête et du cou.

Voir le dentiste et en savoir plus sur l'association de la thérapie au laser de soins bucco-dentaires spécifiques. C'est sans aucun doute une excellente combinaison pour lutter contre la mucite buccale chez les patients sous traitement oncologique.


Deux cas de leishmaniose humaine sont confirmés dans le groupe SP

Deux cas de leishmaniose humaine sont confirmés dans le groupe SP

La surveillance épidémiologique municipale de Presidente Prudente, à São Paulo, a confirmé lundi (13) le second cas de leishmaniose viscérale enregistré dans la municipalité cette année. Une fillette de 1 an qui a contracté une leishmaniose viscérale, une maladie transmise par le moustique paille, a été hospitalisée depuis le jour 6 dans un hôpital de la ville.

(Santé)

Preta Gil a une intoxication alimentaire la veille de Noël

Preta Gil a une intoxication alimentaire la veille de Noël

Preta chanteur Gil profil rapporté sur Instagram qui a subi un inconvénient dans Nuit de noël Elle a dit qu'après avoir mangé une portion de crevettes, nous avions une intoxication alimentaire. L'information est le portail PurePeople Black a dit qu'il était malade et avait des épisodes de vomissements lors d'un voyage à Bethléem et a dû aller à l'hôpital.

(Santé)