en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Orthodontic appliances: know the differences and their indications

Orthodontic appliances: know the differences and their indications

The first questions that patients ask when they enter the orthodontist's office are: "Will I use a device? When? Fixed or mobile? Can I choose the color?". After installation and after the news, the next question is: "When will I take the devices?" In order to try to kill this curiosity, I present here a little of the orthodontic universe.

The devices can be divided into two groups: removable and fixed. The removable ones are embedded in the mouth, being able to be removed by the patient or orthodontist, and depend on the collaboration of the patient. They can be orthodontic - that perform small dental movements -, or orthopedic, used in the corrections of bone alterations of growth. The latter are placed in children and adolescents during the growth phase, inhibiting or stimulating the development of bones, or even redirecting an unfavorable growth trend. To be effective they should be used for the most hours per day.

Fixed appliances are used when moving teeth into the bone. They are composed of brackets that can be metallic, plastic or porcelain, which support the metal arch. With the use of fixed appliances, better meshing between the upper and lower teeth is achieved, restoring a balanced smile.

It is very difficult to predict how long a treatment lasts

Each device has a precise indication and who will determine which the best type and how long treatment is the patient's dental arch. Each case is a case and each device is designed and designed to correct that case in the best way and in the shortest possible time.

Today, the number of adult patients seeking the orthodontist is very large and usually the best indication in the most cases is the fixed appliance for more effective tooth movement. Removable appliances move the teeth more slowly and very slowly. Orthopedic appliances are contraindicated at this stage, as growth is over.

For adults who deal with the public and do not want the metallic option, there are aesthetic and invisible options. There are devices such as polycarbonate, sapphire or porcelain, which are quite aesthetic, in which the support parts are mixed with tooth coloration - however, these devices have two drawbacks. The first is that because of the friction of the ceramic with steel wire, these appliances are less efficient and can increase the duration of treatment. The second disadvantage is that it has a much higher cost than conventional steel fixed appliances.

There is also the lingual technique where the parts are glued on the inside of the teeth and has as main disadvantage the nuisance to the tongue. We can still cite a series of molds that promote the correct alignment and leveling of the teeth.

It is very difficult to predict how long a treatment lasts, because it depends on several factors such as biological response of the organism, type of malocclusion, type of indicated device and patient collaboration . The important thing is to find a qualified professional, use the indicated appliance in the best way possible and attend the monthly maintenance queries for activation and control.


Diabetes can be identified in the dental office

Diabetes can be identified in the dental office

A new study conducted by researchers at Columbia University suggests that dental consultations provide an opportunity for dentists to identify patients with diabetes or pre-diabetes who were unaware of this problem "Periodontal disease is an early complication of diabetes, and about 70 percent of US adults see a dentist at least once a year," says Dr.

(Health)

Babies with Zika develop microcephaly after birth

Babies with Zika develop microcephaly after birth

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) ) of the United States reported a study of Zika-infected infants who had normal-sized heads at birth, but developed microcephaly only from five months to one year after birth. 13 children from Pernambuco and Ceará who were born with congenital Zika syndrome, identified in exams but without reduction of the skull.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Appareils orthodontiques: connaître les différences et leurs indications

Appareils orthodontiques: connaître les différences et leurs indications

Les premières questions que se posent les patients lorsqu'ils entrent dans le cabinet de l'orthodontiste sont: «Vais-je utiliser un appareil? Quand? Fixe ou mobile? Puis-je choisir la couleur? Après l'installation et après les nouvelles, la question suivante est: "Quand vais-je prendre les appareils?" Afin de tenter de tuer cette curiosité, je présente ici un peu de l'univers orthodontique.

Les appareils peuvent être divisés en deux groupes: amovible et fixe. Les amovibles sont noyés dans la bouche, pouvant être retirés par le patient ou l'orthodontiste, et dépendent de la collaboration du patient. Ils peuvent être orthodontiques - qui effectuent de petits mouvements dentaires -, ou orthopédiques, utilisés dans les corrections des altérations osseuses de la croissance. Ces derniers sont placés chez les enfants et les adolescents pendant la phase de croissance, inhibant ou stimulant le développement des os, voire redirigeant une tendance de croissance défavorable. Pour être efficaces, ils doivent être utilisés pendant le plus grand nombre d'heures par jour.

Les appareils fixes sont utilisés pour déplacer les dents dans l'os. Ils sont composés de supports qui peuvent être métalliques, en plastique ou en porcelaine, qui soutiennent l'arc métallique. Avec l'utilisation d'appareils fixes, on obtient un meilleur maillage entre les dents supérieures et inférieures, restaurant un sourire équilibré.

Il est très difficile de prévoir combien de temps dure un traitement

Chaque appareil a une indication précise et déterminera le meilleur type et la durée de traitement de l'arcade dentaire du patient. Chaque cas est un cas et chaque dispositif est conçu et conçu pour corriger le cas de la meilleure façon et dans les plus brefs délais.

Le nombre de patients adultes cherchant l'orthodontiste aujourd'hui est très important et généralement la meilleure indication dans le La plupart des cas est l'appareil fixe pour un mouvement dentaire plus efficace. Les appareils amovibles bougent les dents plus lentement et très lentement. Les appareils orthopédiques sont contre-indiqués à ce stade, car la croissance est terminée.

Pour les adultes qui traitent avec le public et qui ne veulent pas de l'option métallique, il existe des options esthétiques et invisibles. Il existe des dispositifs tels que le polycarbonate, le saphir ou la porcelaine, qui sont très esthétiques, dans lesquels les pièces de support sont mélangées avec la coloration des dents - cependant, ces dispositifs ont deux inconvénients. La première est qu'en raison de la friction de la céramique avec le fil d'acier, ces appareils sont moins efficaces et peuvent augmenter la durée du traitement. Le deuxième inconvénient est qu'il coûte beaucoup plus cher que les appareils fixes en acier conventionnels.

Il y a aussi la technique linguale où les pièces sont collées à l'intérieur des dents et ont comme inconvénient principal la gêne occasionnée à la langue. Nous pouvons encore citer une série de moules qui favorisent l'alignement correct et le nivellement des dents.

Il est très difficile de prédire combien de temps dure un traitement, car il dépend de plusieurs facteurs tels que la réponse biologique de l'organisme, le type de malocclusion, le type de dispositif indiqué et la collaboration avec le patient. . L'important est de trouver un professionnel qualifié, d'utiliser au mieux l'appareil indiqué et d'assister aux demandes mensuelles d'entretien pour activation et contrôle.


Savez-vous si vos selles sont saines?

Savez-vous si vos selles sont saines?

Pour certains, un soulagement, pour d'autres, une saga douloureuse. Que ce soit une période facile ou difficile, il est vrai que tout le monde n'aime pas regarder ses propres excréments dans les toilettes. Cependant, respirer profondément et faire face aux matières fécales peut en dire long sur votre santé - après tout, c'est le résultat de tout ce que vous mangez.

(Santé)

Les applications téléphoniques pour les adolescents cessent de fumer

Les applications téléphoniques pour les adolescents cessent de fumer

Parce que le téléphone cellulaire est probablement l'objet qu'un fumeur adolescent va chercher plus souvent qu'une cigarette, le programme Smokefree Teen du National Cancer Institute États-Unis (NCI) fournit le Smokefree TXT , un outil gratuit pour téléphone cellulaire pour aider les adolescents à cesser de fumer.

(Santé)