en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Overweight Adults Are More Likely to Have Lumbar Disc Damage

Overweight Adults Are More Likely to Have Lumbar Disc Damage

One of the largest studies done to investigate lumbar spine disc degeneration called The Association of Lumbar Intervertebral Disc Degeneration on MRI in Overweight and Obese Adults: A Population-Based Study , revealed that overweight or obese adults are significantly more likely to have lumbar disc degeneration than those with a normal body mass index (BMI).

According to MRI scores, a high BMI is associated with an increase in the number of degenerate disc levels and a greater severity of disc degeneration, including disc space narrowing. Details of this study were recently published in Arthritis Care & Research , the journal of the American College of Rheumatology.

Previous research has already linked a higher BMI to lumbar pains, which are often debilitating and may limit the motor function, impacting the psychological well-being and diminishing the quality of life. Low back pain is also associated with substantial socioeconomic and health costs. Experts suggest that disc degeneration is a cause of low back pain and therefore BMI could be involved in the development of degenerative disc disease.

To expand knowledge about this important health problem, a team of researchers at the University of Hong Kong investigated the association between a high BMI and the presence, extent, and severity of lumbar spine disc degeneration in adults.

Since overweight and obesity are a concern worldwide, The researchers recruited 2,599 participants aged 21 years or older in southern China between 2001 and 2009. The participants were from diverse social and economic backgrounds and were recruited independently of having had back pain or not. The study group included 1,040 men and 1,559 women who had a mean age of 42 years. The researchers conducted radiographic and clinical evaluations, as well as lumbar spine magnetic resonance imaging.

Findings from the study revealed that 73% of the participants had lumbar disc degeneration. Men had a significantly higher prevalence of degeneration than women: 76% to 71%, respectively. Not surprisingly, as the participants' age increased, there was also an increased prevalence of disc degeneration. The BMI assessments from the study group showed that 7% of the subjects were underweight, 48% were in the normal weight range, 36% were overweight and 9% were obese.

The research confirmed that with high BMI there is a significant increase in the severity, extent and overall disc degeneration. In fact, the final phase of disc degeneration - with disk space narrowing - was more pronounced in obese individuals.

Since overweight and obesity are a concern worldwide, the results of the study are significant public health implications. With the rising incidence of overweight and obesity threatening all nations, spine health is at risk across the globe. Many problems arising from weight gain will arise and worsen.

Lumbar disc degeneration is a complex process involving both chemical and structural changes. We need more studies investigating the risk factors for disc degeneration, taking into account the impact of overweight and obesity on the disease. A greater understanding of how high BMI contributes to disc degeneration and the onset of low back pain may aid in the development of new interventions that can improve the quality of life of people with these disabling conditions.


Milk May Help Reduce Dental Caries Caused by Foods That Contain Sugar

Milk May Help Reduce Dental Caries Caused by Foods That Contain Sugar

When you eat sugar-containing foods, bacteria present on the plaque of your teeth produce acids that attack your teeth and can cause tooth decay. Researchers at the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Dentistry conducted a study to see if drinking milk, apple juice or water after eating a sugar cereal would affect the acidity of dental plaque.

(Health)

RSV virus causes respiratory problems and can lead to serious complications

RSV virus causes respiratory problems and can lead to serious complications

The transmission of the virus happens from child to child through direct contact and secretions of the nose, mouth or droplets of saliva. Symptoms of respiratory syncytial virus infection usually appear about four to six days after exposure to the virus. In adults and older children, RSV usually causes congestion or runny nose, dry cough, low fever, sore throat, mild headache.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Les adultes obèses sont plus susceptibles d'avoir l'usure du disque lombaire

Les adultes obèses sont plus susceptibles d'avoir l'usure du disque lombaire

L'une des plus grandes études pour étudier la dégénérescence du disque de la colonne vertébrale lombaire appelée L'Association des Lombaire disque intervertébral Degeneration sur l'IRM en surpoids et obèses adultes :. Une étude basée sur la population a révélé que les adultes en surpoids ou obèses sont beaucoup plus susceptibles d'avoir une dégénérescence discale lombaire que ceux avec un indice de masse corporelle (IMC).

notes élevées faites par résonance magnétique, un IMC élevé est associé à une augmentation du nombre de niveaux de disques dégénérés et une plus grande sévérité de la dégénérescence discale, y compris le rétrécissement de l'espace discal. Les détails de cette étude publiée récemment dans le formulaire Arthritis Care & Research , l'American College Journal of Rheumatology.

Des recherches antérieures ont établi un lien entre l'IMC plus élevé de maux de dos, qui sont souvent débilitante et peut limiter la fonction motrice, impactant le bien-être psychologique et diminuant la qualité de vie. La lombalgie est également associée à des coûts socioéconomiques et de santé importants. Les experts suggèrent que la dégénérescence du disque est une cause de lombalgie et pourrait donc d'impliquer l'IMC dans le développement de la maladie dégénérative du disque.

Pour accroître les connaissances sur cet important problème de santé, une équipe de chercheurs de l'Université Hong Kong a étudié l'association entre un IMC élevé et la présence, l'étendue et la gravité de la dégénérescence des adultes de disque de la colonne lombaire.

car surpoids et l'obésité sont des préoccupations dans le monde, les résultats de Les chercheurs ont recruté 2 599 participants âgés de 21 ans ou plus dans le sud de la Chine entre 2001 et 2009. Les participants provenaient de divers milieux sociaux et économiques et ont été recrutés indépendamment d'avoir eu mal au dos ou non. Le groupe d'étude comprenait 1 040 hommes et 1 559 femmes âgés en moyenne de 42 ans. Les chercheurs ont mené des évaluations radiologiques et cliniques et l'imagerie par résonance magnétique de la colonne lombaire.

Les résultats de l'étude a révélé que 73% des participants avaient une dégénérescence discale lombaire. La prévalence de la dégénérescence était significativement plus élevée chez les hommes que chez les femmes: 76% à 71%, respectivement. Sans surprise, à mesure que l'âge des participants augmentait, il y avait aussi une augmentation de la prévalence de la dégénérescence discale. Les évaluations du groupe d'étude a montré que l'IMC 7% des sujets avaient un faible poids, 48% étaient dans la gamme de poids normal, 36% étaient en surpoids et 9% étaient obèses.

L'étude a confirmé que, avec IMC élevé il y a une augmentation significative de la gravité, de l'étendue et de la dégénérescence discale globale. En fait, la dernière étape de la dégénérescence discale - avec le rétrécissement de l'espace disque - était plus prononcée chez les personnes obèses

Depuis surpoids et l'obésité sont des préoccupations dans le monde entier, les résultats de l'étude ont des conséquences importantes. implications pour la santé publique. Avec l'augmentation de l'incidence du surpoids et de l'obésité qui menace toutes les nations, la santé de la colonne vertébrale est en danger dans le monde entier. De nombreux problèmes découlant de la prise de poids vont survenir et s'aggraver.

La dégénérescence discale lombaire est un processus complexe impliquant à la fois des changements chimiques et structurels. Nous avons besoin de plus d'études qui étudient les facteurs de risque de dégénérescence discale, en tenant compte de l'impact du surpoids et de l'obésité sur la maladie. Une meilleure compréhension de la contribution de l'IMC à la dégénérescence discale et à l'apparition de lombalgies peut contribuer à la mise au point de nouvelles interventions susceptibles d'améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de ces troubles.


Déplacement de l'articulation temporo-mandibulaire (ATM)

Déplacement de l'articulation temporo-mandibulaire (ATM)

L'articulation temporomandibulaire (ATM) est située juste en avant de la partie inférieure de l'oreille et permet le mouvement de la mâchoire inférieure. C'est une articulation sphérique, telle que l'articulation de la hanche ou de l'épaule. Lorsque la bouche s'ouvre largement, la partie arrondie (appelée le condyle) quitte la cavité et se déplace vers l'avant, retournant à sa place lorsque la bouche se ferme.

(Santé)

Diabète de type 3: quand trop de sucre affecte le cerveau

Diabète de type 3: quand trop de sucre affecte le cerveau

Le terme diabète de type 3 est un terme proposé qui indique la résistance à l'insuline dans le cerveau causée par la maladie d'Alzheimer. Bien qu'un peu difficile à comprendre, vous devez d'abord savoir que ce n'est pas un terme universellement accepté par la communauté médicale, mais elle apporte avec elle un concept très important :.

(Santé)