en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Pap smear: who should do and what diseases the test finds

Pap smear: who should do and what diseases the test finds

The British organization Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust , focused on cervical cancer prevention, has launched a campaign on social networks to alert women about the importance of the exam of Papanicola. The #SmearForSmear campaign consists of posting photos using blurred red lipstick, making a joke with the name of the test in English: Pap smear. The word "smear" can mean so much smear - which is how material from the cervix is ​​collected in the pap smear - as a blur. Hence, the lipstick is blurred.

The Pap smear is an exam that should be at the top of the list of priorities for all sexually active women. Increasingly, there are studies that prove the importance of it. One of these studies, released by the journal Science Translational Medicine , points out that the test could detect even ovarian cancer and endometrial cancer, as well as cervical cancer and other diseases. Consultation - Getty Images

Also called Cytology or Oncology Colpocytology, the examination is powerful and at the same time simple - it consists of collecting material from the cervix with a "scraping spoon". According to a study published in the online edition of the British Medical Journal (BMJ), the survival rate of women with cervical cancer detected by the examination reaches 92%, while those diagnosed only for symptoms show a survival rate of 66%. To get the most common questions about how the Pap smear works, check out the answers from gynecologists below.

1. The Pap test helps to detect which diseases?

In addition to cervical cancer and its lesions, the test helps diagnose vaginal infections such as Gardnerella vaginalis, trichomoniasis, and candidiasis. "Since the collection of the exam involves a genital examination, it is also possible to detect sexually transmitted diseases, such as syphilis, gonorrhea, chondro- matosis, chlamydia and cancer," says gynecologist Rodrigo Hurtado of the clinic Origen de Contagem (MG). At what age does the woman need to take the test?

According to the Brazilian Guidelines for the Screening of Cervical Cancer, launched by the Inca in 2011, women aged 25 to 64 years and have had sexual activity. However the gynecologist claims that there is not a certain age. As soon as you start your sex life, the woman should already start performing the cytology. "The HPV virus can only be transmitted to the cervix through sexual intercourse and this is the main cause of cervical cancer," he explains. What is the best time to do it?

According to Rodrigo, the only period that makes it impossible to perform the exam is the days when the woman is menstruating. Before marking the exam, therefore, one must check the menstrual calendar and calculate when the next menstruation will be.

4. How much time does it have to be done?

Woman on exam day - Getty Images

"The ideal is to do it once a year," says the gynecologist. In high-risk cases, such as when a woman has HPV, her doctor may recommend a more frequent examination, every six months for example.

5. Is there any risk to women?

Rodrigo Hurtado guarantees that there is no risk. "On the contrary, the examination allows the early diagnosis with great chances of treatment and cure," the doctor claims.

6. Does the Pap test detect HPV?

In fact, this test is not specific for detecting HPV. "However, the test can detect the presence of abnormalities in the cells of the cervix or the vagina that are caused by HPV," explains gynecologist Achilles Cruz, of São Paulo, a specialist in gynecology and obstetrics at the Hospital das Clínicas of FMUSP. >If this happens, your doctor will give you additional tests, such as Colposcopy and Hybrid Capture. The first exam evaluates the lining tissue of the cervix by enlarging the image and applying reagents. "In the presence of changes, tissue biopsy will be done to identify HPV infection," Achilles explains. Hybrid Capture is an advanced technology exam that can detect if there are one or more types of the HPV virus that can cause cervical cancer.

7. Can the Pap Smear fail? "Studies show that about 50% of infected people may have failed to detect the HPV virus through the Pap smear," says Achilles Cruz. Therefore, it is important to perform complementary tests depending on the conditions of the woman - the gynecologist will be careful to evaluate which cases are necessary.

8. Can a woman have sex the day before the exam?

No. In order to be more effective in the result, doctors recommend the following precautions to be taken 48 hours prior to the test:

Do not use a vaginal cream and / or ovule

- Do not use a shower in the area and do not do internal washing

- Do not perform gynecological examination with touch, transvaginal ultrasound and / or magnetic resonance imaging of the pelvis

- Do not have intercourse with or without the use of condoms

9. Can virgin women also take the exam?

  • Yes, virgin women can also perform the Pap smear, but these are special situations indicated by the doctor. "The collection of the material in this case is done through the use of speculum for virgin women with the help of a cotton swab," explains the gynecologist Achilles, who also ensures that there is no harm to the patient, nor risk of the hymen rupture.

  • Combat Binge Eating Discovering Emotional Triggers

    Combat Binge Eating Discovering Emotional Triggers

    Have you ever stopped to evaluate what it takes to eat compulsively? That's right: we eat, or rather, we swallow with food anger, fears, sadness, loneliness, loneliness, and we do not even realize how harmful this is to our body. In the vast majority of the time, we have even gone ill, we feel grief, headache, malaise, but we do not even think about the reason for these events.

    (Health)

    Sleep disorders can cause or aggravate heart disease

    Sleep disorders can cause or aggravate heart disease

    A good night's sleep is not only a cure for day-to-day problems - not sleeping well can cause serious illness and major social disturbance. Starting from the beginning: It's not how much you sleep, but how you sleep. Sleep, regardless of duration, should be restorative, and the person should wake up fully recovered from the fatigue of the previous day.

    (Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Pap: qui doit faire et ce que le test de dépistage des maladies

Pap: qui doit faire et ce que le test de dépistage des maladies

L'organisation britannique Cervical Cancer Trust Jo , axé sur la prévention du cancer du col, a lancé une campagne sur les réseaux sociaux pour mettre en garde les femmes sur l'importance de l'examen de Papanicola. La campagne #SmearForSmear est de publier des photos à l'aide de rouge à lèvres rouge flou, ce qui rend un jeu sur le nom du test en anglais: frottis. Le terme «frottis» peut signifier autant de frottis - c'est-à-dire la façon dont la matière du col de l'utérus est recueillie dans le frottis vaginal - que de flou. D'où le rouge à lèvres maculée.

Un frottis de Pap est un test qui devrait être en haut de la liste des priorités de toutes les femmes sexuellement actives. De plus en plus, il y a des études qui en prouvent l'importance. Une telle étude, publiée dans la revue Science Translational Medicine , indique que le test peut détecter jusqu'à cancer de l'ovaire et de cancer de l'endomètre ainsi que le cancer du col et d'autres maladies.

Les femmes et le médecin pendant consultation - Getty Images

aussi appelé ou Cytologie colpocytologie oncotique, l'examen est puissant et simple en même temps - est la collection de matériel cervical avec un « scraping cuillère ». Selon une étude publiée dans l'édition en ligne du British Medical Journal (BMJ), le taux de survie des femmes atteintes du cancer du col utérin détecté en examinant atteint 92%, alors que ceux qui sont diagnostiqués que par les symptômes ont un taux de survie de 66%. Pour obtenir les questions les plus courantes sur le fonctionnement du test Pap, consultez les réponses des gynécologues ci-dessous.

1. Le test Pap permet de détecter les maladies?

En plus du cancer du col utérin et de ses blessures, le test aide à diagnostiquer les infections vaginales telles que Gardnerella vaginalis, Trichomonas et candidose. « Parce que la collecte de l'examen implique l'examen génital, il est également possible de réaliser des maladies sexuellement transmissibles comme la syphilis, la gonorrhée, les condylomes, la chlamydia et le chancre mou », dit-gynécologue Rodrigo Hurtado, clinique Origine Contagem (MG).

2. A quel âge une femme doit passer l'examen?

Selon les lignes directrices du Brésil pour le dépistage du cancer du col, lancé par l'Inca en 2011, sont dus à subir les femmes d'examen 25-64 années et ont eu une activité sexuelle. Cependant le gynécologue prétend qu'il n'y a pas un certain âge. Dès que vous commencez votre vie sexuelle, la femme devrait déjà commencer à pratiquer la cytologie. "Le virus HPV ne peut être transmis au col de l'utérus qu'à travers les rapports sexuels et c'est la principale cause du cancer du col de l'utérus", explique-t-il. Quel est le meilleur moment pour la réaliser?

Selon Rodrigo, la seule période qui empêche l'examen est les jours où la femme est menstruée. Avant de marquer l'examen, il faut donc vérifier le calendrier menstruel et calculer quand la prochaine menstruation sera.

4. De quelle fréquence il doit être fait

Femme le jour de l'examen - Getty Images

« L'idéal est de faire une fois par an », dit-gynécologue. Dans les cas à haut risque, par exemple lorsqu'une femme est atteinte du VPH, son médecin peut recommander un examen plus fréquent tous les six mois, par exemple.

5. Existe-t-il un risque pour les femmes?

Rodrigo Hurtado garantit qu'il n'y a pas de risque. "Au contraire, l'examen permet le diagnostic précoce avec de grandes chances de traitement et de guérison", affirme le médecin.

6. Le test Pap détecte-t-il le VPH?

En fait, ce test n'est pas spécifique à la détection du VPH. « Cependant, le test peut détecter la présence d'anomalies dans les cellules du col ou du vagin qui sont causées par le VPH », dit gynécologue Achille Cruz, São Paulo, spécialiste en gynécologie et en obstétrique à l'Hôpital das Clinicas, FMUSP.

Si cela se produit, votre médecin vous donnera des tests supplémentaires, tels que la colposcopie et la capture hybride. Le premier examen évalue le tissu de revêtement du col de l'utérus en agrandissant l'image et en appliquant les réactifs. "En présence de changements, une biopsie tissulaire sera faite pour identifier l'infection par le VPH", explique Achille. Hybrid Capture est un examen de technologie avancée qui permet de détecter si un ou plusieurs types de virus HPV peuvent causer le cancer du col de l'utérus.

7. Le frottis de Pap peut-il échouer? "Des études montrent que près de 50% des personnes infectées peuvent avoir échoué à détecter le virus du VPH à travers le test de Pap", explique Achilles Cruz. Par conséquent, il est important d'effectuer des tests complémentaires en fonction des conditions de la femme - le gynécologue prendra soin d'évaluer quels cas sont nécessaires.

8. Une femme peut-elle avoir des relations sexuelles la veille de l'examen?

Non. Afin d'être plus efficace, les médecins recommandent les précautions suivantes 48 heures avant le test:

Ne pas utiliser de crème vaginale et / ou d'ovule

- Ne pas utiliser de douche dans la zone et ne pas faire de lessive interne

  • - Ne pas effectuer un examen gynécologique avec le toucher, l'échographie transvaginale et / ou l'imagerie par résonance magnétique du bassin

  • - Ne pas avoir de rapports sexuels avec ou sans l'utilisation de préservatifs

  • 9. Les femmes vierges peuvent-elles aussi passer l'examen?

  • Oui, les femmes vierges peuvent aussi effectuer un test de Pap, mais ce sont des situations spéciales indiquées par le médecin. "La collecte du matériel dans ce cas se fait par l'utilisation de spéculum pour les femmes vierges à l'aide d'un coton-tige", explique le gynécologue Achilles, qui assure également qu'il n'y a pas de mal au patient, ni risque de la rupture de l'hymen.


Peut retourner un overdentures sourire perdu

Peut retourner un overdentures sourire perdu

Si vous avez perdu toutes leurs dents naturelles, que ce soit par la maladie parodontale, la carie dentaire ou d'un traumatisme, les prothèses dentaires peuvent retourner vos dents manquantes et votre sourire. Remplacement des dents manquantes seront bénéfiques pour votre apparence et votre santé. Sans le support prothétique, les muscles faciaux perdent leur fermeté, ce qui donne à la personne l'air plus âgée.

(Santé)

Traitement à domicile des infections des voies urinaires: recettes et soins

Traitement à domicile des infections des voies urinaires: recettes et soins

Infection des voies urinaires est un problème très fréquent chez les femmes, en particulier en raison du fait que l'urètre féminin est plus courte, ce qui permet plus facile pour les micro-organismes arrivent. Ils sont causés par des bactéries et la condition peut progresser, atteignant même les reins, si elle n'est pas traitée correctement.

(Santé)