en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

Passive smoking may be linked to type 2 diabetes and obesity

Passive smoking may be linked to type 2 diabetes and obesity

If you need one more reason to stay away from cigarettes, consider the finding presented at The Endocrine Society's 94th Annual Meeting in the United States. According to the study, secondhand smoke may be linked to increased risks of developing type 2 diabetes and obesity.

For the analysis, the authors used data from more than 6,300 adults who had participated in the US National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) between 2001 and 2006. All of them answered questions about smoking and provided blood samples in which they could check the levels of cotinine, a substance found in tobacco.

Approximately 25% of the participants were smokers, 41% were classified as non-smokers and 34% were identified as passive smokers. After taking into account the age, sex, race, alcohol consumption and regularity with which the volunteers practiced exercises, the researchers concluded that passive smokers had more risk factors that could favor type 2 diabetes than non-smokers. smoking. Examples of these factors are increased insulin resistance, high fasting blood glucose or blood sugar, and higher levels of a type of hemoglobin that has been shown to have blood glucose in the past three months.

In addition, (BMI), a measure that allows the identification of obesity, were higher among passive smokers than among nonsmokers. They also concluded that the association between secondhand smoke and type 2 diabetes was not due to obesity. Still, more studies are needed to understand the relationship.

Other hazards of secondhand smoke

Before the nuisance was only the strong smell impregnated in clothes and hair. The problems are much more serious for those who are forced to live with the cigarette smoke of others. If you are a smoker, look at the risks that people around you suffer from it. Reactions such as cough, eye irritation, headache, coryza, aggravation of respiratory diseases, and nausea are the so-called short-term symptoms for the

Pulmonary diseases

Children exposed daily to cigarette smoke have a 50% higher chance of developing some chronic disease such as bronchitis and asthma. In adults who already suffer from this type of problem, poisoning aggravates symptoms and causes frequent bouts of shortness of breath.

Cancer

If you think that only smokers are at risk for cancer, you are very much mistaken. The environment where a person has just smoked contains the same substances inhaled by the dependent. And worse: in greater quantity. The cancers related to the inhalation of cigarette smoke are those of the lung, airways and bronchi, liver and bladder.

Damage to the vascular system

Passive smoking impairs the functioning of the heart, even when there is no more smoke in the air. This is because, even after the smoke is dispersed, the harmful substances of the tobacco remain in the air and can be inhaled.


Understand the changes that anabolics cause in the body

Understand the changes that anabolics cause in the body

The risks of using anabolic steroids are widely publicized today, even so, some people turn to them for the purpose of gaining muscle quickly. These steroids are synthetic derivatives of the male hormone testosterone, originally produced by the testicles, and can cause serious health changes. Increased hair, beard and thickening of the voice are just a few of the male characteristics reinforced by the use of hormones.

(Health)

People with RA are more likely to have gum disease

People with RA are more likely to have gum disease

As health professionals and consumers celebrate Arthritis Awareness Month in May, dentists remind patients and caregivers to pay attention to the link between periodontal disease and arthritis rheumatoid arthritis. Studies have shown that people with RA are more likely to have periodontal disease compared to those who do not have this chronic inflammatory joint disease.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Tabagisme passif peut être lié à diabète de type 2 et l'obésité

Tabagisme passif peut être lié à diabète de type 2 et l'obésité

Si vous avez besoin d'une raison de plus pour ne pas fumer, considérez la découverte présentée à The 94e Annual Meeting de The Endocrine Society aux États-Unis. Selon l'étude, la fumée secondaire peut être lié à un risque plus élevé de développer le diabète et l'obésité de type 2.

Pour l'analyse, les auteurs ont utilisé plus de 6.300 adultes les données qui avaient participé à la National Health and Nutrition examen Enquête (NHANES) entre 2001 et 2006. Tous ont répondu aux questions sur le tabagisme et ont fourni des échantillons de sang dans lesquels ils pouvaient vérifier les niveaux de cotinine, une substance présente dans le tabac.

Environ 25% des participants étaient des fumeurs, 41% étaient des non-fumeurs et 34% étaient des fumeurs passifs. Après avoir pris en compte l'âge, le sexe, la race, la consommation d'alcool et la régularité avec laquelle les volontaires ont pratiqué des exercices, les chercheurs ont conclu que les fumeurs passifs avaient plus de facteurs de risque qui pourraient favoriser le diabète de type 2 que non fumer. Des exemples de tels facteurs comprennent: une résistance accrue à l'insuline, la glycémie à jeun élevée ou de sucre dans le sang et des niveaux accrus d'un type d'hémoglobine ayant un comportement glucose du sang dans les trois derniers mois

En outre, les niveaux d'index. (IMC), une mesure qui permet l'identification de l'obésité, étaient plus élevés chez les fumeurs passifs que chez les non-fumeurs. Ils ont également conclu que l'association entre la fumée secondaire et le diabète de type 2 n'était pas due à l'obésité. Encore, plus d'études sont nécessaires pour comprendre la relation

Autres dangers de la fumée secondaire

Avant la nuisance était seulement l'odeur forte imprégnée dans les vêtements et les cheveux. Les problèmes sont beaucoup plus graves pour ceux qui sont obligés de vivre avec la fumée de cigarette des autres. Si vous êtes un fumeur, regardez les risques que les gens autour de vous en souffrent. Les réactions telles que la toux, l'irritation des yeux, les maux de tête, le coryza, l'aggravation des maladies respiratoires et les nausées sont les symptômes que l'on appelle à court terme.

Maladies pulmonaires

Les enfants exposés quotidiennement à la fumée de cigarette ont 50% plus de risques de développer certaines maladies chroniques telles que la bronchite et l'asthme. Chez les adultes qui souffrent déjà de ces problèmes, l'intoxication aggrave les symptômes et les causes de fréquents épisodes de difficultés respiratoires.

Cancer

Si vous pensez que seuls les fumeurs sont à risque d'avoir un cancer, vous avez tort. L'environnement dans lequel une personne vient de fumer contient les mêmes substances inhalées par la personne à charge. Et pire: en plus grande quantité. inhalation de fumée de cigarette cancers liés sont pulmonaires, des voies respiratoires et des bronches, du foie et de la vessie.

Les dommages au système vasculaire

Le tabagisme passif altère le fonctionnement du cœur, même quand il n'y a pas plus de fumée dans l'air En effet, même après la dispersion de la fumée, les substances nocives du tabac restent dans l'air et peuvent être inhalées.


Brésiliens créer des nanoparticules capables de inactivant le VIH

Brésiliens créer des nanoparticules capables de inactivant le VIH

Des chercheurs brésiliens du Centre national de recherches énergie et des matériaux (CNPEM) ont développé des nanoparticules capables d'attirer le virus, l'empêchant de faire des appels avec les cellules du corps et donc attaquer la santé. L'étude a été publiée dans la revue Applied Materials & Interfaces.

(Santé)

Liens d'étude apnée du sommeil à une perte auditive

Liens d'étude apnée du sommeil à une perte auditive

Une étude publiée dans le Archives of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery ont établi une relation entre l'apnée du sommeil et soudaine perte auditive, atteignant à peine quatre mille personnes par an aux Etats-Unis, selon le Instituts nationaux de la santé . L'analyse a été menée par des chercheurs de l'hôpital universitaire de médecine de Taipei à Taiwan Les données médicales de 3 200 patients taïwanais souffrant d'une perte auditive soudaine ont été analysées entre 2000 et 2008.

(Santé)