en.aazsante.fr

The Largest Portal Of Health And Quality Of Life.

People with eating disorders are more prone to alcohol abuse

People with eating disorders are more prone to alcohol abuse

Many psychiatric disorders are associated with alcohol use, abuse, and dependence. Among these disorders, I highlight one of the health problems that has attracted attention in recent years: eating disorders.

According to the 4th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV ), from the American Psychiatric Association, eating disorders are serious eating disorders, identified especially among women. About 0.5% to 3.0% of the general female population has such a condition, but a considerably higher percentage of women have problematic and sub-clinical eating behaviors. Its etiopathogenesis is unknown, but it is believed in a multifactorial causal model with the participation of biological, genetic, psychological, sociocultural and familial components.

The most well-known types of eating disorders are Anorexia Nervosa (AN) and Bulimia Nervosa (BN). The first one is characterized by distortion in the body's own perception, with excessive fear of gaining weight (even underweight, BMI less than 17.5 kg / m2 or less than 85% of the expected weight), weight loss self-induced by deprivation of food, denial of the severity of losing weight, and finally, pituitary disorders that can cause amenorrhea (absence of menstruation) in women and, in men, loss of interest and reduction of sexual potency. On the other hand, BN involves episodes of loss of control and excessive intake of food on a compulsive and periodic basis (twice a week for at least three consecutive months) and use of compensatory methods such as exaggerated physical activity or use of purgative drugs to achieve

Some studies have shown that patients with eating disorders are more likely to consume alcohol regularly.

Some studies have shown that patients with eating disorders are more likely to consume alcohol regularly and have a sense of loss of quantity and frequency of use. In relation to alcohol abuse and dependence, such behaviors are identified among 16% of patients with eating disorders. In an analysis of the simultaneous occurrence of eating disorders and disorders related to alcohol use, 38 studies evaluated identified this type of association.

The importance of adequate diagnosis and treatment of co-occurrence of disorders related to alcohol and food use is still more relevant in two respects: eating disorders are more prevalent among young women between the ages of 18 and 24 and they are more vulnerable to the effects of alcoholic beverages than men.

However, the relationship between eating disorders and those related to the use of alcohol is far from being exclusive to the young. A Canadian study analyzed the risk of developing such conditions at the same time among women of different age groups (15-24, 25-44, older than 44 years), identifying this association in all ages investigated, especially among women over 25 years. In addition, although the combination of conditions is more prevalent among women, it has also been identified among men.

Since the condition of an additional disease can change the symptoms, interfere in the diagnosis, treatment and prognosis of psychiatric conditions it is very important that the use of alcohol, as well as other psychoactive substances, should be evaluated from the first consultation of patients with suspected eating disorders. Detecting them early can increase patient adherence to a possible treatment and its success, as well as a good prognosis.

Source: Ponce JC, Silveira CM, Andrade AG, Oliveira LG. Alcohol consumption comorbid to eating disorders: a review of the literature. * Calculation of BMI: Weight (kg) divided by [height x height] (m)


After 2 years, 10% of the pillow is composed of mites

After 2 years, 10% of the pillow is composed of mites

It is almost impossible to imagine, but it is estimated that there are at least 1.5 million mites living in your bed at all times. These micro-organisms are present in several places and some objects are considered ideal habitat for their accumulation. Mites are extremely small organisms, visible only by a microscope, but they can cause great disorders for health.

(Health)

Man has transplanted thumb in place of thumb

Man has transplanted thumb in place of thumb

Two attempts at finger reimplantation were unsuccessful. It was then that the doctors decided to use the big toe in place of the missing finger. "It's a bit crazy, though, even if you have four good fingers, if you do not have something to do the tweezer move, your hand loses much of the function," said plastic surgeon Sean Nicklin of Sydney Eye Hospital, where the Zac surgery was performed in an interview with the BBC.

(Health)

aazsante.fr

Le Plus Grand Portail De La Santé Et La Qualité De Vie.

Les personnes souffrant de troubles alimentaires sont plus sujettes à l'abus d'alcool

Les personnes souffrant de troubles alimentaires sont plus sujettes à l'abus d'alcool

De nombreux troubles psychiatriques sont associés à la consommation d'alcool, à l'abus et à la dépendance. Parmi ces troubles, mettre en évidence l'un des problèmes de santé qui a le plus attiré l'attention ces dernières années. Les troubles alimentaires

D'après la 4e édition du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux, le DSM-IV ), de l'American Psychiatric Association, les troubles de l'alimentation sont des troubles alimentaires graves, identifiés notamment chez les femmes. Environ 0,5% à 3,0% de la population féminine en général a la condition, mais un pourcentage considérablement plus élevé de femmes éprouvent des comportements alimentaires problématiques et sous-clinique. Son étiologie est inconnue, mais il croit en un modèle causal multifactorielle, avec la participation de la diversité biologique, génétique, psychologique, socio-culturelle et familiale.

Les types de la plupart bien connus des troubles alimentaires sont Anorexia Nervosa (AN) et Boulimie (BN). Le premier est caractérisé par une perception déformée du corps, dans la crainte excessive de graisse (même si une insuffisance pondérale; * IMC inférieur à 17,5 kg / m2 ou moins de 85% du poids attendu), la perte de poids par autoinduzida la privation de nourriture, le déni de la gravité de perdre du poids et des troubles finalement hypophyse qui peut causer l'aménorrhée (absence de règles) chez les femmes et chez les hommes, la perte d'intérêt et réduit la puissance sexuelle. Déjà le BN implique des épisodes de perte de contrôle et la consommation excessive de nourriture obligatoire et périodiquement (deux fois par semaine pendant au moins trois mois consécutifs) et l'utilisation de méthodes compensatoires tels que l'activité physique excessive ou l'utilisation de purgatifs, pour atteindre poids inférieur à la recommandation.

Certaines études montrent que les patients souffrant de troubles alimentaires ont une plus grande chance de consommer régulièrement de l'alcool

Certaines études montrent que les patients souffrant de troubles alimentaires ont une plus grande chance de consommer de l'alcool régulièrement et avoir une perte de sensation de la quantité et de la fréquence d'utilisation. En ce qui concerne l'abus d'alcool et la dépendance, de tels comportements sont identifiés chez 16% des patients souffrant de troubles de l'alimentation. Dans une analyse de l'apparition simultanée de troubles alimentaires et des troubles liés à l'alcool, les 38 études identifiées ce type d'association.

L'importance du diagnostic et le traitement des co-occurrence des troubles liés à l'alcool et la nourriture est encore plus pertinente pour deux aspects: les troubles alimentaires sont plus fréquentes chez les jeunes femmes entre 18 et 24 ans et ils sont plus vulnérables aux effets de l'alcool que les hommes

Cependant, la relation entre les troubles de l'alimentation et ceux liés. à l'usage de l'alcool est loin d'être exclusif aux jeunes. Une étude canadienne a analysé le risque de développer de telles conditions alors que chez les femmes de différents groupes d'âge (15-24, 25-44, plus de 44 ans), en identifiant cette association dans tous les âges étudiés, en particulier chez les femmes de plus 25 ans De plus, alors que la jonction des conditions est plus répandue chez les femmes, il a également été identifié parmi les hommes.

Alors que la situation d'une maladie supplémentaire peut changer les symptômes, interférer avec le diagnostic, le traitement et le pronostic de troubles psychiatriques comorbid il est très important que, depuis la première visite des patients atteints de troubles de l'alimentation suspects est évalué la consommation d'alcool et d'autres substances psychoactives. les détecter précoce peut augmenter l'adhésion du patient à un traitement possible et son succès, ainsi que d'un bon pronostic.

Source: Ponce JC, Silveira CM, Andrade AG, Oliveira LG. La consommation d'alcool comorbide aux troubles de l'alimentation: une revue de la littérature. * Calcul de l'IMC: Poids (kg) divisé par [hauteur x hauteur] (m)


La chimiothérapie blanche a des effets secondaires moins graves

La chimiothérapie blanche a des effets secondaires moins graves

La chimiothérapie "blanche" a son nom basé sur la couleur du liquide connu sous le nom de "chimiothérapie rouge". La chimiothérapie "blanche" peut être formulée en tant que médicament Paclitaxel ou moins souvent en docétaxel. Dans le cas du paclitaxel, il est habituellement effectué sur une base hebdomadaire, mais il peut aussi être administré toutes les trois semaines si l'oncologue comprend qu'il prescrit doses équivalentes.

(Santé)